Goregirl’s Dungeon on YouTube: My 10 Favourite Japanese Horror Films

I thought I outta have at least one video review in costume to celebrate the season; so here I am as a ghost with ten of my favourite Japanese horror films…

9 Responses to “Goregirl’s Dungeon on YouTube: My 10 Favourite Japanese Horror Films”

  1. Wow,this is a great video! Clever,fun and visually striking! Emering from the suitcase is pretty darn awesome. Make-up and costume are first-rate,too. I’ve noted the films on the list I haven’t seen and hope to track them down. I’ve seen Godzilla and the other horror films from the 1960’s that made your top ten,and enjoy each of them. I can’t say enough good things about your presentation. Hope you have a frightfully fantastic Halloween,Goregirl!

    • I wanted to do the reviews without speaking and had originally added titles to the video. I didn’t like the way it looked so I scrapped it. I am my own worst critic, but I actually thought this one didn’t turn out too bad. I have my Halloween venue picked out, and was going to be a part of a group costume, but part of the group is bailing so I have to decide on another costume. I’ve got plenty of stuff in the tickle trunk to choose from. Thanks for the props Conrad!

  2. Great video and list. I can’t fault it and I loved the make-up and creepy effects.

    The parts I really loved were:

    Audition – Person in a sack – that was one scary bit!
    Tetsuo – Holy shit, Penis Drill

    Was that whole trunk thing a reference to The Three Extremes?

    I really need to read Edogawa Rampo… Haven’t watched Rampo Noir, but Edogawa Rampo is a very influential writer.

    Nice that you got the reference to Godzilla in as well.

    • It was sort of a multi-inspired project. I was originally going to use my friend’s cello case ala Strange Circus. I wasn’t going to fit in the Cello case but I thought I could give the illusion I was emerging from it, but it just didn’t work. I tried to crawl out of the trunk ala Ringu, which also looked like hell. The little clips are basically all that was usable from an hour of me trying to be “ghosty”. Also, Bob Dylan’s Subterranean Homesick Blues video.

  3. You have really outdone yourself with this one. Bravo! Very creepy and of course a great list.

  4. […] good time. The idea behind my costume this year was a variation on the ghost costume I just did for my 10 favourite Japanese horror films video with further inspiration from my Living Dead Doll Grace of the Grave. Here is the delightful little […]

  5. […] was included in a video I did recently of my ten favourite Japanese horror films and has long held a position on my top 100 best of all time. It is somewhat misleading to call […]

Leave a Reply

