A SMELL OF HONEY A SWALLOW OF BRINE (1966) – The Dungeon Review!

Stepping into something weird asohasob

ASOHASOB

A Smell of Honey A Swallow of Brine opens with central character Sharon Winters doing some heavy making out with boyfriend Roy Bradley. After getting naked Sharon begins to shout at him to stop. Roy needless to say wants to keep forging forward but Sharon is insisting he put on the brakes. A cop happens to be passing by and wants to know what all the ruckus is about. This scene ends with the above title sequence. This is how we are introduced to Sharon Winters.

ASOFASOB1

ASOHASOB2

ASOHASOB3

ASOHASOB5

The incident results in a court trial and Roy Bradley is sentenced to two years in a state reformatory for rape and assault. Roy was definitely pushy but we witnessed this incident and we know that Roy did not rape Sharon. This is the beginning in a series of similar events orchestrated by Sharon. Sharon is a disturbed young woman with malicious intent who craves attention.

ASOHASOB7

ASOHASOB10

ASOHASOB13

ASOHASOB14

“So I was raped! It happened six weeks ago! What do you expect me to do? Observe a year of mourning?”

Sharon’s roommate Paula questions her evening date so soon after her “incident”. Sharon has agreed to go on a date with co-worker Dick Owens. When Dick shows up she initially asks him to wait for her on the couch. A short time later she invites him to wait for her upstairs. Sharon arranges a mirror strategically to reflect her naked body as she is getting dressed. Awkward, dull Dick tells Sharon about his promotion at work but is seriously distracted by a naked Sharon reflected in the mirror. Sharon soon takes things to the next level resulting in her standard cry of rape. Dick is so shaken up by the incident he never shows up for work again.

ASOHASOB16

ASOHASOB18

ASOHASOB20

Sharon initiates a sexual encounter with her roommate Paula. Sharon apologizes to Paula for her previous bitchy comments. Paula offers to give Sharon a massage and complaining it is too warm takes all her clothes off. When things begin to get heavy Sharon pulls her rape stunt. This results in the film’s most infamous line as featured in the Something Weird promo reel “I may be a bitch but I’ll never be a butch.”

ASOHASOB21

asohasob1

asohasob4

asohasob17

asohasob22

Lowell Carter is a brand new hire at Sharon’s office. Sharon wastes no time hooking up with Lowell. Sharon and Lowell’s relationship almost seems healthy initially but that does not last long. Sharon begins the tease game but unlike the other men in the story Lowell is plagued with Sharon nightmares. Lowell has a sadomasochistic dream that he has Sharon tied up. He rips off Sharon’s clothing and whips her relentlessly. But even in his dream Sharon takes charge. The tables are turned and soon it is he who is tied up and being tortured by Sharon. At work Lowell fantasizes about him and Sharon running through a field laughing happily and Sharon stripping for him in a bar. He is obsessed with Sharon. Finally the time comes when Sharon agrees to give herself to him completely. Sharon’s modus operandi of course kicks in at the last-minute and a cry of rape is uttered that drives Lowell completely and utterly mad. Lowell has a monster-sized meltdown!

asohasob31

asohasob33

asohasob35

Lowell’s meltdown makes the paper and Sharon’s boss suggests she take the rest of the afternoon off. Sharon goes to sit in the park and for a few minutes I thought there might have been some regret. Alas, she attracts the attention of Tony as he is walking by. Sharon has a coffee with Tony and the two meet later to go dancing. The evening’s dancing concludes with Sharon and Tony getting hot and heavy but this time things end a little differently for Sharon.

asohasob

A Smell of Honey A Swallow of Brine or as I like to call it The Girl Who Cried Rape was surprisingly naughty. Personally I think the film qualifies as a roughie as much as a sexploitation flick. For starters there is a lengthy and very well done sadomasochistic dream/fantasy segment. People die, go to jail and get beaten at various points in the film. Sharon Winters is one of the nastiest and most malicious females I have run into in sixties cinema. I have watched hundreds of horror movies from the decade so I think that is saying a lot. Granted, sixties horror is not exactly jam-packed with female antagonists. Sharon gets great pleasure from the undoing of others. It literally makes her laugh. She has no regrets about the results of her teasing. Teasing is really the wrong word though. Once you are making out naked you are rather past teasing. In all cases, Sharon is very much the aggressor. A Smell of Honey A Swallow of Brine is definitely exploitative and is one of the grittier films I seen from 1966. The Something Weird titles I’ve watched definitely get naughtier as the years through the decade progressed. I actually enjoyed every aspect of this film but particularly Stacey Walker who plays Sharon Winters. She is fantastic! She is so perfect as the catty, manipulative, nasty, sexy Queen Bitch Sharon Winters. I loved her expressions and her reactions and her laugh. I loved her abundant overflowing confidence. She has become one of my b-movie heroines! Sharon is a heinous person and Stacey Walker makes her so fucking watchable! I specifically added the Something Weird title The Notorious Daughter of Fanny Hill because of her presence in that film as Miss Kissey Hill! A standing ovation also goes to Sam Melville who plays Lowell Carter. His segment with Stacey, the film’s lengthiest, is definitely the Pièce de résistance of A Smell of Honey A Swallow of Brine. Melville is well matched with Walker and they have great chemistry. It is lots of fun watching poor Lowell’s massive meltdown! I included a small photo gallery below of Lowell’s meltdown for your viewing pleasure. I really dug the music used through the film too. My only minor complaint is the ending was too rushed. I was very satisfied by the finale but I would have liked to have seen more graphic detail of how it went down. While no fault of the filmmaker, I sure do wish the picture quality of the Something Weird print had been better. There were a lot of scratches on the film and the darker scenes were quite pixellated. A Smell of Honey A Swallow of Brine has definitely been one of my favourite viewings from the Something Weird catalog and it comes highly recommended.

Director Byron Mabe (credited here as B. Ron Elliott) was a busy man through the sixties and seventies. He directed ten and acted in 38 films; many of them are Something Weird titles including one I watched last week called The Defilers.

Byron Mabe

Dungeon Rating: 4.5/5

Directed By: Byron Mabe (aka B. Ron Elliott)

Starring: Stacey Walker, Sam Melville, Bob Todd, Sharon Carr, Michael Wright, Michael O’Kelly, Larry Jones, Linda Gearhart

Lowell Carter (Sam Melville) goes storming out of Sharon Winters (Stacey Walker) bedroom into the city streets. Everywhere he looks he is reminded of Sharon and sex! I have NO CLUE why the pretty black woman’s face reminded him of Sharon and sex but they flash it a few times!

asohasob25

asohasob28

asohasob27

asohasob26

asohasob30

asohasob29

For even more images from A Smell of Honey A Swallow of Brine click here.

12 Responses to “A SMELL OF HONEY A SWALLOW OF BRINE (1966) – The Dungeon Review!”

  1. Awesome. I saw this once on a mix tape of assorted genre stuff and yeah, it BURNS in your memory thanks to the lead actress. It’s definitely a pretty mean film in terms of subject matter to some people, but this one’s a flick you can’t take your eyes off of once it starts up.

    And yup… Lowell’s meltdown is priceless because I think every guy goes through some of that mind-blasting stuff without any over-teasing when they meet a new girl and think something’s cooking on the stove between them!

    • That Stacey Walker is something else!

      Really?! I guess it isn’t the sort of experience most men would care to share. The intimate things that go on in our heads we never share.

      • Yeah, I guess when we’re younger we either hide that stuff upstairs in the brain attic or sometimes tell other guys who we know or whatever just to blow off steam. I’m old and cranky (sometimes), so I can laugh about my LESSER Lowell moments where I didn’t melt down, but maybe over-thought a situation a wee bit too much. Bleh!

  2. conradw58 Says:

    Terrific review,written with your usual perfection, and yet another great DVD from Something Weird. Stacey Walker is wonderful,and this would be her last second and final feature film. Sam Melville(his first film)would go on to have an extensive career in movies and TV,including a regular role on The Rookies(1972-1976) TV series. I was sorry to learn he passed away in 1989. I applaud Something Weird for finding these 1960’s sexploitation films,be they “nudie cuties” or “roughies” from dusty basements,forgotten film vaults and maybe even a trash can or two,and you,Goregirl, for giving them the attention they so richly deserve.

    • Well put Conrad! I too applaud Something Weird bringing attention to these brilliant forgotten gems! There is no doubt about it, there will be films from this feature that will make my favourite film discoveries of 2013! Ms. Walker is yet ANOTHER talented lady with a tiny resume! I have been stumbling upon too many of these lately! I have many more titles to check out still and tonight I will be watching Doris Wishman’s The Immoral Three! I have seen almost all of Ms. Wishman’s flicks… spoiler…because I am doing a favourite five! Doris is Queen! Thanks Conrad always for your nice words and support.

      • conradw58 Says:

        I will be looking forward to your Doris Wishman Favorite Five and your thoughts on The Immoral Three,which I enjoyed quite a lot. I totally agree with you that Doris is the queen! You are a surpremely talented writer,Goregirl. I love your posts and you will have my respect,admiration and support always!

  3. These are really wonderful ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  4. If you wish for to get much from this paragraph then you have to apply such strategies to your won weblog.

  5. Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My blog goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an
    email. I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog
    by the way!

  6. MAN, gg – you need to start moderating these comments. WAY too many spammers and losers here. I filter mine pretty strictly so I have less nonsense to deal with. I guess ignoring them is key, but I trash them on my site so people don’t click on any crap links.

    • I have the spam fliter on but I can’t seen to stop them from coming through. I get rid of what sneaks through when I am signed in but otherwise I don’t know what I can do about it.

Leave a Reply

