Godzilla! Godzilla! Godzilla!

There is no doubt that Godzilla has become an identifiable pop culture icon…

Here is Godzilla receiving his star on Hollywood Blvd. He is the first giant monster, and so far the only giant monster to receive the honor. Suck on that Mothra!

Apparently this picture was snapped on the lot at Toho Studios. Godzilla appears to be teaching the kids Japanese characters. When is someone going to give Godzilla an honorary degree already?

I got rid of my cable years ago, and haven’t seen a new episode of the Simpsons forever. But the Simpsons sure as hell have given me some great laughs! One of my favourite episodes is where The Simpsons go to Japan. Homer buys a square watermelon, Bart and Homer get thrown into prison where they learn Origami and Kabuki, the entire family work in a fish gutting facility and are contestants on a hellish Japanese game show! The episode ends with The Simpsons flying back home. As they are taking off, the Godzilla-related turbulence emergency light begins to flash!

Hey!! Once upon a time I had this 6ft high inflatable Godzilla! I love how Godzilla is attacking the child on the cover! “Repair Patch Included”.

9 Responses to “Godzilla! Godzilla! Godzilla!”

  1. If you listen to MF Doom and his alter-ego King Geedorah you’ll hear some of the Toho films get sampled. No Godzilla though:




    • The link under the first video shows you from which film the samples MF Doom used comes from.

    • goregirl Says:

      I am completely clueless when it comes to new music. And by new I mean anything that came out after I stopped working in a record store in 1996! Thanks for sending that…I will have to wait until I get home (no volumne at work).

  2. Haha… “Suck on that, Mothra” is one of the best things I’ve ever seen in an article.

    I work on a University campus. Occasionally, I have to run items across campus. And once or twice a year, I’ll find myself behind a vehicle that has a personalized license plate that says “GOJIRA”. I smile every time.

  3. Godzilla holds so many great memories for me. Grew up with Godzilla. I remember getting so mad in Godzilla Vs King Kong that they made Godzilla out to be ‘the bad guy’

    • goregirl Says:

      It is probably already clear that I am a big fan of Godzilla (it will become even clearer as the month goes on!). I always hated when Godzilla got hurt. My mom said I cried at the end of the original Godzilla!

  4. Victor De Leon Says:

    “Godzilla Related Turbulence” One word: Epic.

Leave a comment