Music and Images from Pee-Wee’s Playhouse (Danny Elfman)

Music and images from Pee-Wee’s Playhouse. Three Pee-Wee’s Playhouse tracks from Danny Elfman’s Music for a Darkened Theatre.

5 Responses to “Music and Images from Pee-Wee’s Playhouse (Danny Elfman)”

  1. Although I was somewhat beyond my Saturday morning cartoon years,I’m not ashamed to say I watched Pee-Wee’s Playhouse every Saturday,and was sorry to see it end. Was a Pee-Wee Herman fan from the very beginning and his very first appearance in Cheech and Chong’s Next Movie and the hilarious HBO special in 1981. Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure is one of my favorite movies from the 1980’s.

    • Anyone my age or older were not of the typical Saturday morning cartoon audience. But frankly, every single person I knew watched Pee-Wee…sometimes I wondered if any actual children ever watched that crazy show!

      • Children did watch it, as I was one. I’m certain we didn’t get the same things from it though.

        I’m embarrassed to admit that while I was lucky enough to pick up a copy of Elfman’s “Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure” soundtrack a couple years ago, it totally escaped me that he probably also did the music for Pee-Wee’s show.

        • I was being cheeky ;)… but there was plenty of weirdness & trippy stuff for the non-kiddies!

          I love Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure! I bet that is a pretty fun soundtrack! Is it all instrumental Elfman stuff other than Tequila by The Champs? Might have to pick that up myself!

          • All instrumental Elfman. Sadly, it’s missing “Tequila,” but they added the Rodney Dangerfield’s “Back to School” soundtrack to make up for it.

Leave a Reply

