DAY ONE of The William Castle Blogathon & Fun with GIFs: The Castle Edition!

blogathontinglerGory Greetings Castle fans! Welcome to day one of The William Castle Blogathon! First and foremost let’s see what our contributors are up to…

Run! Don’t walk over to The Motion Pictures to find out their Favorite Things About…House on Haunted Hill
hohh

You may want to update your insurance policy before reading Forgotten Films review of Castle’s 1958 film Macabre
Macabre (1958, USA) - 02Ghost Viewer not required to read Cinematic Catharsis‘ review of 13 Ghosts (1960)
13-GHOSTS

For a tingling good time check out Furious Cinema’s feature William Castle: Mad as Hell Movie Showman
william castle

And my lovely co-host Jo over at The Last Drive In is reviewing The House on Haunted Hill (1959). She would also like to introduce you to her house guests so please do stop by her place for a visit.
hohh1

July 29 is a special day in the wonderful world of William Castle; it is the 54th anniversary of The Tingler’s theatrical premiere.
***HAPPY 54TH ANNIVERSARY TO THE TINGLER!***
TinglergifDr. Warren Chapin (Vincent Price) is attacked by a tingler while he is sleeping.

***FUN WITH GIFS: THE CASTLE EDITION!***

Fun with GIFs is a weekly feature here in the Dungeon. Eventually I might move to making GIFs with video captures which makes for a smoother and slicker presentation but in the meantime I have an old school GIF animator. It works like a picture flip book. You have to collect a flowing series of images which is more difficult than you might think. I have had to scrap dozens of them! It is a constant learning experience. William Castle films are very GIF friendly!
***
Homicidal (1961)Castlegifemily1Emily is one of my favourite characters from a William Castle film. Here Emily (Joan Marshall) has a “moment”.

***
Shanks (1974)Shanks00Shanks begins and ends with a performance from Malcolm Shanks marionettes.

***
13 Ghosts (1960)CastlegiflionA headless tamer and his lion are two of 13 Ghosts featured in the film.

***
William Castle films are special for many reasons and one of those reasons are some truly memorable opening sequences and credits. This is a trio of three particularly fun pre-credit sequences.

ZOTZ! (1962)zotz00William Castle chats with Lady Liberty about Zotz! before the film starts.

***
I SAW WHAT YOU DID (1965)ISWYDThe opening scene from I Saw What You Did.

***
tinglerintoPre-credit sequence from The Tingler.

25 Responses to “DAY ONE of The William Castle Blogathon & Fun with GIFs: The Castle Edition!”

  1. Oh geezum we really need to start our own carnival and take it on the road… you tickle me… I’m as happy as a tick on a slow moving hound dog…

  2. […] my wonderful partner in crime, Terri at Goregirl’s Dungeon, will be setting the Wow Meter off into the red with her Fun with GIFS: The William Castle […]

  3. I can’t stand it, these are so fabulous I want to stare at them all day-

    • goregirl Says:

      Merci MonsterGirl! I wish more had turned out…I had to scrap a bunch…The Night Walker credits had such spectacular potential 😉

  4. The gif from Homicidal needs a “NOPE” added in the last frame. I may go do it for you.

    And I’m totally linking to that Zotz! one when I post my review.

    • goregirl Says:

      I LOVE the Emily character…she is so animated…a GIF natural!

      Yes! By all means link…thanks! I look forward to your review of ZOTZ!

  5. Fantastic intro page!

  6. JAYSUS! These GIFS are creeepy!

    Aurora

  7. conradw58 Says:

    Awesome beyond the word awesome I have just typed. Fun stuff and great reviews from everyone.

    • goregirl Says:

      I’m so pleased you are enjoying it!! It is an honor hearing that from someone who is a big fan of Mr. Castle! Cheers Conrad…there is lots more fun ahead!

  8. Cool GIFs! Thanks for the shout out, too! 🙂

  9. It’s not animated, but I adore the headless Columbia logo at the end of Strait-Jacket (1964).

    • goregirl Says:

      You are so right! That shot is GREAT! I found a picture of it and I’m going to tweet it! Thanks for the reminder!

  10. […] can read the roster of entries here and here. And be sure to look for mine on August 2. And you can read my review of Tol’able David here. […]

  11. […] Goregirl’s Dungeon:Fun with GIFS: The William Castle Edition […]

  12. Castle standing up and talking to the Columbia Liberty figure is awesome. Don’t think I saw that movie, I would have remembered an intro like that 🙂

  13. […] Goregirl’s Dungeon: Fun with GIFS: The William Castle Edition […]

  14. […] Goregirl’s Dungeon: Fun with GIFS: The William Castle Edition […]

  15. […] Goregirl’s Dungeon: Fun with GIFS: The William Castle Edition […]

  16. […] blogathon co-hostess of Goregirl’s Dungeon shares more fun gifs from Castle’s films, including one of the Tingler’s attack on a sleeping Vincent […]

Leave a comment