VIFF: Day FOUR

Going into day four of The Vancouver International Film Festival and I have yet to see a film that knocked my socks off. Day one’s film Yumen was the only one I would say I actually disliked however. Day two’s film A Touch of Sin was a nice looking film with good performances and a few surprises. A Touch of Sin is the director’s reaction to a chain of violent events that have happened in China over a short period. While the film is good, it is one I would be unlikely to ever visit again. I was looking to yesterday’s duo to rock my world which it failed to do. Liv and Ingmar has however been my favourite thus far. No thanks to the film maker who discerned a contrived setup of an elderly Liv Ullman returning to the home her and Ingmar once shared. The flowery music is unforgivable. What made Liv and Ingmar shine is the talented, gracious, genuine and lovely Liv Ullman. Ms. Ullman was full of wonderful intimate stories about her relationship with Ingmar Bergman. The film clips the director uses compliment Liv’s words nicely and it is easy to see how their relationship heavily influenced Bergman’s output. Despite some unoriginal and uninspired structuring the documentaries subject shone like a brilliant bright light. Bruno Dumont’s Camille Claudel 1915 was without a doubt the nicest looking film of the collection with the most impressive performance. The sense of sadness, hopelessness and claustrophobia of the confines of a mental hospital circa 1915 is beautifully realized and heart-wrenching. I have no complaints about this film whatsoever other than to say that it just did not move me much. I expect like A Touch of Sin to forget about this film completely in a few days.

Today’s film is a 1:00 pm showing of Wolf Children at The Center for The Performing Arts.

VIFF Online Description:

wolf children

Fans of Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli, it’s time to expand your horizons! This beautiful, sweet modern day fairy tale is the latest animated feature from Hosoda Mamoru (Summer Wars, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time). Wolf Children is exquisite, a fantasy about a single mom, Hana, who has the misfortune to fall in love with a wolf man. He’s kind and considerate, but given to roaming the streets at night on four legs—which is how he comes to a tragic end.

The progeny of this union are a girl and a boy, Yuki and Ame, who grow furry ears and long tails whenever they get excited. They may look adorably cute but Hana knows outsiders wouldn’t understand. She brings them up alone and tries to teach self-control, but soon relinquishes the city for an old farmhouse in the country, away from nosy neighbours. Here she learns to cultivate crops, and hopes that her wolf children will have time to figure out who and what they are.

With its gorgeous animation and sensitive, multifaceted direction, this is a funny, exhilarating and touching film about nature, nurture, and the call of the wild. It’s ideal family viewing—and equally suited to wolf packs.

I would go out of my freaking mind if I was only watching new films so I have been balancing out my Vancouver Film Festival viewing with some sixties sexploitation courtesy of Doris Wishman. A friend and I watched Bad Girls Go To Hell and Another Day, Another Man and we intend on watching Indecent Desires tonight.

Screenshot from 2013-10-05 00:51:32

Also…I picked up a new Rue Morgue…

Rue Morgue

I also picked up this little magazine dedicated to the films of the 60s and 70s…

Cinema Retro

4 Responses to “VIFF: Day FOUR”

  1. conradw58 Says:

    Doris Wishman forever! 🙂

    • She REALLY does kick some bootie! I am torn which one I like more; Indecent Desires or Another Day Another Man but I also dug Bad Girls Go to Hell and Too Much Too Often. Thoroughly enjoying the mid late sixties stuff. Need to see The Sex Perils of Paulette and My Brother’s Wife as soon as possible.

  2. I look forward to reading your review of The Wolf Children!

Leave a Reply

