Goregirl’s Dungeon on YouTube: Popol Vuh – Aguirre II

Music & Images from Werner Herzog’s 1972 film Aguirre, the Wrath of God. Music by Popol Vuh – Aguirre II.

8 Responses to “Goregirl’s Dungeon on YouTube: Popol Vuh – Aguirre II”

  1. I like this. It starts out as spacy new age sounding stuff, and then turns into something that sounds like the Allman Brothers.

    • There were 50 some odd pieces on this collection of Vuh/Herzog scores; it was tough choosing one. I’m glad you like it…I rather dig the turn the music takes myself. Cheers Wednesday’s Child!

  2. Aguirre, the Wrath of God was one of those movies that I always looked at as a kid at the local videosmith and thought: “I wonder if I should watch that.” I never did. After looking it up on wikipedia, I wish I had!

    • I don’t think I would have appreciated this nearly as much in my younger years. I think all the Herzog/Kinski collaborations are worth watching. Nosferatu is still my favourite, and the one I’ve seen most often but I liked Aguirre plenty.

  3. Great film,wonderful score, and I love Klaus Kinski in EVERYTHING! He will forever be my favorite screen portrayal of Edgar Allan Poe in Web of the Spider!

    • Me too…I always enjoy Kinski! I have a huge collection of Vuh’s Herzog soundtracks so there will definitely be more in the future 🙂

  4. THERE IS AN AWFUL SAMENESS INSIDE THE FISH BOWL
    OR OUTSIDE IT.
    MAN IS CONSTANTLY BEING CRUSHED BECAUSE HE IS BLIND TO THE FATALISM MADE KNOWN THROUGH HISTORY.
    the wrath of God…

Leave a Reply

