The Vancouver International Film Festival is Coming!

VIFF

The Vancouver International Film Festival is approaching fast and furiously. The box office opens this weekend with the festival beginning on September 26 and running to October 11. I have two weeks booked off work to enjoy the festival this year! Below are several trailers for the films that piqued my interest on my initial review of the festival guide. I will not be seeing every film listed here, and it is likely there will be other films added to the possibilities.

Jean-Luc Godard, Peter Greenaway & Edgar Pêra’s 3x3D

Bruno Dumont’s Camille Claudel 1915

Aharon Keshales & Navot Papushado’s Big Bad Wolves

Sebastián Hofmann’s Halley

Mong-Hong Chung’s Soul

Yonah Lewis & Calvin Thomas’ The Oxbow Cure

Dheeraj Akolkar’s Liv & Ingmar

Alexandros Avranas’ Miss Violence

Ari Folman’s The Congress

Alex van Warmerdam’s Borgman

Mamoru Hosoda’s Wolf Children

Ben Wheatley’s A Field in England

Johnnie To’s Blind Detective

Bobcat Goldthwait’s Willow Creek

11 Responses to “The Vancouver International Film Festival is Coming!”

  1. Interesting selection. I checked the Japanese line-up and it was strong – some are at this year’s BFI London Film Festival. I’ve also booked two weeks off work to do the festival tour!

    I reviewed The Wolf Children last year. I really loved it. I hope you do as well!

  2. Overall I think the lineup is lacking in top tier heavy hitters (the galas are on the weak side compared to the past couple fests), but there are a ton of interesting titles that make it difficult to choose from. And It’s incredibly cool that they decided to add a genre film sidebar this year. Highly recommend watching A Field In England. It has by far the trippiest mind melting scene filmed in the past few years. Probably since Enter The Void.

    • I can’t say I am super psyched for any particular title this year but there are some interesting choices just the same. I considered A Field in England but the only showtimes were pre-October so I won’t be able to do it. The festival begins in October for me this year; but I do have 9 films chosen. Probably most excited about 3x3D of the lot.

  3. […] last year but I did follow the coverage (Amusing! Insightful!) from great cinebloggers Goregirl and Bonjour Tristesse so check in on them every day of the festival to see what they thought. There are […]

Leave a Reply

