Tilt-a-Whirl, The Twenties & Tobe Hooper!

I posted a poll last September 2012 asking what you thought the next decade of top ten horror film lists should be. At this point I have completed top ten lists for each year of the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and 1990s. The results of the aforementioned poll was heavily in favor of the 1960s but the runner-up years were tied at 6 each, the 1990s and the 1920s. The month of November will be dedicated to The Twisted Twenties! Unfortunately there were not enough horror films made in the 1920s to do top ten lists for each year. IMDB only lists 10 films for 1921! Instead of the top ten lists I will be doing one top thirty in three parts. There will also be reviews, GIFs and slideshows all in celebration of The Twisted Twenties!

the-phantom-carriage

This weekend I will be going to the PNE (Pacific National Exhibition) to fill up on junk food, go on vomit-inducing amusement rides, play crown and anchor and buy some crap I don’t need. The weekend viewing will consist of Mervyn LeRoy’s 1956 film The Bad Seed, Andrei Tarkovsky’s 1979 film Stalker and Orson Welles’ 1962 film The Trial. Next week I will have another entry in my Favourite Five project, a review for John Paizs’ 1985 Canadian treasure Crime Wave and music from Alex North.

the funhouse

Above: Poster for Tobe Hooper’s 1981 film The Funhouse. Below: Trailer for same…

Have a GORETASTIC weekend!

6 Responses to “Tilt-a-Whirl, The Twenties & Tobe Hooper!”

  1. One of the highlights of my youth was yearly visits to Kennywood Park in Pittsburgh. My favorite ride? The Ghost Ship! Shocking,I know! 😉 Will look forward to all those reviews. I like the 1956 version of The Bad Seed a lot(except that goofy “curtain call” thing tacked on at the end). The Funhouse is yet another 1980’s favorite! Anyway,have fun and a great weekend,Goregirl!

    • As you know I am a sucker for circuses and carnivals! I love them! I never miss my yearly visits to the PNE (or the CNE when I lived in Ontario). We had tons of fun!

      You are so right about the school playesque curtain call thing…VERY goofy! I guess that was suppose to be a way to ease the shock of the finale? She is a scary little girl…you’ll be seeing quite a bit of her later in the week 😉

  2. The Funhouse definitely deserves to be seen again on blu-ray. You really can see how great Hooper’s widescreen compositions are now, and the colors of course stand out even more.

    • Hooper’s early stuff other than Texas Chainsaw Massacre doesn’t seem to get much love. This is definitely one of the better slashers from the period…but I have a huge soft spot for films with a carnival theme.

  3. Are we going to get a review of Stalker?

    • Nope. I am reviewing ONLY Canadian films from now until the end of September…

      But Stalker was excellent; visually pleasing, philosophical and mysterious…I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

