Vancouver Zombie Walk 2013

screen-shot-2013-06-10-at-11_27_43-pm

This year’s zombie walk snuck up on me! I was thinking about zombie walk months back and got it in my head to do an Ilsa: She Zombie of the SS costume. Trying to find a military ensemble of any kind in my size was a challenge. Even if I found the perfect uniform could I really pull this costume off?? I think not.

Ilsa She-Wolf of the SS

So the idea was abandoned and never replaced and I had to dig into the old tickle trunk to come up with something else. I usually give the latex a dry run which I did not get a chance to do this year. It was so much easier when I didn’t use latex. For my first zombie walk I bloodied up my wedding dress and bought material to make a long veil and managed to pull off a decent costume without latex. I did not include a picture from year two because I look like a damn vampire not a zombie. That year definitely could have used some latex! Year three was my first year experimenting with latex. I was pretty conservative with it as you will see. My imagination is far grander than my abilities. Year four I was going for a Living Dead Doll look initially but decided to be a clown instead. I bought this awesome red sponge nose that looked fantastic with the ensemble and then I forgot to wear it. Last year’s nun costume was certainly my ugliest. I went berserk with the latex with the aim to make an old hag type nun; of all my costumes it came the closest to what I envisioned. It took almost three hours to do that makeup. I don’t think I will be topping that this year but I will still try. I watched several makeup tutorials this week for inspiration and I have a good idea of what I want to do. What I want to do and what actually happens can be very different things! I hope I can come up with something freaky! The walk is this Saturday August 17 so expect pictures on Monday. There is only one thing that will prevent this from happening and that is rain. I am not going to spend 2 or 3 hours applying latex and makeup to get rained on; that is for damn sure! I can not recall a nicer drier Vancouver summer than what we have had this year! It seems particularly cruel that they should be calling for rain on walk day. I am keeping my fingers crossed! Until then here are pictures from zombie walks past…

zombiebridgepp4

zombie walk 2010

zombie walk2011

zombie walk 2012 004

I clearly have some sort of ponytail fixation. Have a great weekend! Eat some brains and drink zombies in my honor.

Zombie recipe courtesy of Drinks Mixer.

1/2 oz Bacardi® 151 rum
1 oz pineapple juice
1 oz orange juice
1/2 oz apricot brandy
1 tsp sugar
2 oz light rum
1 oz dark rum
1 oz lime juice

Blend all ingredients with ice except Bacardi 151 proof rum. Pour into a collins glass. Float Bacardi 151 proof rum on top. Garnish with a fruit slice,
sprig of mint and a cherry.

day of the dead

10 Responses to “Vancouver Zombie Walk 2013”

  1. I think you could pull off the Nazi Zombie…its all in the attitude and delivery…I still think you should do it sometime…that would one sexy dom zombie actually…:) Have fun either way…!

  2. conradw58 Says:

    All the pictures are great! I too think you would make a very alluring Nazi Zombie. 😉 I hope that darn rain holds off and have fun,fun,fun!!!!!

    • It ended up being cloudy with a bit of sun…perfect weather actually…it is a bit of a walk when the sun is burning bright and you are all gacked up with latex.

  3. The problem with the Ilsa Nazi Zombie is that someone who’s unfamiliar with the Ilsa flicks could easily snap a picture of you on their cell and raise a big stink about it online. I’ve seen it happen before.

  4. I wish I could like this article five times.

  5. That Ilsa costume is a bit risky as someone has mentioned but I bet you would have altered it in some way. That wedding dress horror looks cool.

    I hope you have a great walk!

    • It was quite windy the year I wore that wedding dress and veil and we walked over a bridge which was extra windy…but it did make for a nice effect in pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

