Goregirl’s Dungeon on YouTube: John Zorn – Dancing

Maya Deren66

I know! I know! Another GIF! It is starting to look like a bloody amusement park around here! Don’t worry, no more now until next week’s edition of Fun with GIFs. The above GIF is an image of filmmaker Maya Deren. On the recommendation of my friend David over at My Kind of Story I rented Martina Kudlácek’s 2002 documentary In the Mirror of Maya Deren. Maya Deren was an experimental filmmaker during the 1940s and 1950s. Deren is a talented and fascinating woman and this well made documentary had me very excited to check out her films. I have seen only Meshes in the Afternoon (1943) thus far; which is fantastic! Her other films include; The Witch’s Cradle (1944), At land (1944), A Study in Choreography for Camera (1945), Ritual in Transfigured Time (1946), Meditation on Violence (1948), Ensemble for Somnambulists (1951) and The Very Eye of Night (1958). Maya Deren also wrote the book Divine Horseman: The Living Gods of Haiti. I have a collection of her short films in my rental queue so you can count on a review of some of her work in the near future! I highly recommend checking out the documentary In the Mirror of Maya Deren.

Below is music and images from In the Mirror of Maya Deren. Music provided by John Zorn (another talented artist introduced to me by David).

2 Responses to “Goregirl’s Dungeon on YouTube: John Zorn – Dancing”

  1. I’m enjoying the GIF’s! Great music,too! : )

    • goregirl Says:

      Thank you Conrad! The GIFs are hopelessly addictive! I am trying to keep it to a dull roar 🙂 I highly recommend checking out Meshes of the Afternoon…

Leave a Reply

