FUN WITH GIFs: Mike Kuchar’s Sins of the Fleshapoids

I am learning to create GIFs which basically work like those picture flip books we had when we were kids. You can make GIFs with video clips but I am working with screen caps. The key is to have as subtle a movement between images as possible. This is easier said than done! It is an ongoing learning experience but I thought I would share some of my creations along the way. Unfortunately you have to click on the picture to open it in another window and see the animation. If any of my fellow WordPress users could give me some guidance as to how I rectify this issue I would be forever grateful! Below are GIFs for Mike Kuchar’s 1965 film SINS OF THE FLESHAPOIDS. Don’t forget to click on the picture!

Gina Zuckerman being waited upon by her Fleshapoid Xar. Here she is feasting on a banquet of fruit.

sotf

The castle is alight with Fleshapoid love!

sotf3

Donna Kerness as the ginchy Princess Vivianna brushing her glitter-laden hair…

Sins of the Fleshapoids

11 Responses to “FUN WITH GIFs: Mike Kuchar’s Sins of the Fleshapoids”

  1. I always love a good gif….:)

    • goregirl Says:

      Me too! I am determined to learn this art and hopefully I can create some humorous and quirky ones in the immediate future!

  2. Oddly enough:

    http://moviessilently.com/2013/06/23/how-i-make-animated-gifs/

    although this is for clips, it’s nicely done…

    • goregirl Says:

      Thanks for the link! Movies silently’s gifs are lovely…but unfortunately it does not help me in my task. One day soonish I will buy a Mac and have better options for images 🙂

  3. IN SOUTHERN FLORIDA A PORCUPINE GIF COSTS AROUND $200 WHILE A FULL TILT BAPTISMAL GIF GOES FOR $600 !!!

  4. I’m starting to put Gifs in all of my reviews now. I started last year with our podcast about Suicide Club and Noriko’s Dinner Table. I did one for my anime posts and the trailer post on Saturday as well. Oh, and today’s post about Zero Focus.

    As for the Gifs not playing here, you need to insert them into the post at their actual size. If you made it 500 x 500 then it needs to be inserted at that size otherwise it won’t play. Make sure you make them loop forever.

    • goregirl Says:

      You’ve done some great gifs! Why didn’t I think of asking you about this in the first place?! Seriously…right now you are the wind beneath my fucking wings Jason!! That worked!! These Gifs are too large!! Going forward I am making them 450 wide so I can post them at full size. Seriously man…you have no idea how frustrated I was this weekend! 🙂

  5. I wanted to make a gif yesterday… you need to teach me how!

    • goregirl Says:

      That would be like the blind leading the blind at this point! I am using a GIF program that came with Microsoft Imaging which is a part of Front Page 2000. It is hokey but easy enough to use…the bigger issues is getting the right picture sets.

Leave a Reply

