The William Castle Blogathon Hosted by The Last Drive In and Goregirl’s Dungeon

blogathon

Jo over at The Last Drive In and I have been simmering to do a project together. We have both been lifelong horror fans and as kids spent many a rainy Sunday afternoon on the living room floor watching monster movies and classic horror. One of my favourites when I was a kid was William Castle’s 13 Ghosts (1960). I begged my parents for ghost goggles and was incredibly disappointed when my dad told me that no such thing existed. The creative child that I was I transformed my dad’s swimming goggles with a little paint and glitter and voilà! Ghost Goggles! So who better for Goregirl and Monstergirl to celebrate than the lovable king of gimmicks Mr. William Castle?

I am too young to have enjoyed Mr. Castle’s films in a theatre, but I absolutely love this sort of showmanship and enthusiasm. I am a total sucker for fairs and circuses. To this day I can not drive past even the crappiest most rundown excuse for a fair without checking it out. That is right; I am that person in the horror movie whose foolish whims get everyone killed! Mr. Castle is the Ringmaster of B-Cinema! Check out the master at work: William Castle introduces’ his 1960 film 13 Ghosts and explains how to use The Ghost Viewer…“Do you believe in ghosts?”

Goregirl’s Dungeon is most pleased to be co-hosting The William Castle Blogathon with The Last Drive In July 29 – August 2! Thank you to Jo for creating the nifty banners and thanks also to everyone who has committed to contributing! It warms my heart to see this many fellow bloggers stoked to celebrate Mr. Castle and his entertaining library!!

“I am Frederick Loren, and I have rented the house on haunted hill tonight so that my wife can give a party. She’s so amusing. There’ll be food and drink and ghosts, and perhaps even a few murders. You’re all invited….” (Frederick Loren – played by Vincent Price in House on Haunted Hill)

The Guest List…

(Lindsey)-The Motion Pictures -Tribute
(Gwen) Movies Silently– The Crime Doctor & The Whistler
(Dorian) Tales of the Easily Distracted– The Spirit is Willing (1967)
(Vinnie) Tales of the Easily Distracted -Zotz! (1962)
(David Arrate)- My Kind of Story-Images – Shanks (1974), It’s a Small World (1950) & Masterson of Kansas (1954)
(Brian Schuck) Films From Beyond The Time Barrier– Strait-Jacket (1964)
Furious Cinema – TBD
(Kristina)-Speakeasy The Houston Story (1956)
(Paul)-Lasso the Movies– The Tingler (1959)
(Ruth) –Silver Screenings– The Old Dark House (1963)
(Rob Silvera) The Midnight Monster Show– Homicidal (1961) & House on Haunted Hill (1959)
(Aurora) Once Upon a Screen – The Night Walker (1964)
Classic Movie Hub– The Busy Body (1967)
(Karen) Shadows and Satin– Mysterious Intruder (1946)
The Nitrate Diva – When Strangers Marry (1944)
Forgotten Films-Macabre (1958)
(Heather Drain) Mondo Heather– 13 Frightened Girls! (1963) & Bio
(Barry) Cinematic Catharsis -13 Ghosts (1960)
(Misty Layne) Cinema Schminema – Project X (1968)
(Ivan) Thrilling Days of Yesteryear– I Saw What You Did (1965), The Chance of a Lifetime (1943)
(Rich) Wide Screen World – Top 5 William Castle Gimmicks
(Steve Habrat) Anti-Film School – Mr. Sardonicus (1961)
(John LaRue) The Droid You’re Looking For – Visual Feature (various films)
(J. Murphy) Basement Screams – TBD
(Ray) Weird Flix – Slaves of Babylon (1953) & The Saracen Blade (1954)
(Toby Roan) 50 Westerns – The Law vs Billy the Kid (1954)
(Jenna Berry) Classic Movie Night – Ghost Story/Circle of Fear
(Le) Critica Retro – Texas, Brooklyn and Heaven (1948)
(Kristen) Journeys in Classic Film – Spine-Tingler: The William Castle Story
(Jeff Kuykendall) Midnight Only – Bug (1975)
(Lindsey) The Motion Pictures – Tribute
(Stacia) She Blogged By Night -Let’s Kill Uncle (1966)
(The Metzinger Sisters) Silver Scenes – Busy Bodies: Promoting Castle’s Camp & The Films of William Castle
 

If you are involved in the blogathon or want to help promote it feel free to use one of these ginchy banners Jo created…

blogathon1

blogathon2

blogathon3

25 Responses to “The William Castle Blogathon Hosted by The Last Drive In and Goregirl’s Dungeon”

  1. This is why you were the perfect person to host this Blogathon with me Terri! We definitely should have been pals when we were little scary girls, we might have gotten beaten up a lot… you and me, but think of the shenanigans we might have cooked up together!

    I love the story about your dad and the Ghost Goggles. Me–I drove my pop to distraction, always misappropriating his darn hammer and disassembling various appliances in the house to build my space station in the basement or construct a nifty laboratory panel in the spirit of Strickfaden. I was one of those gullible wide eyed kids who sent away for those sea monkeys!

    I love the Guest List and just know the crowd we’ve scared up is gonna have the best time. Thanks so much for co-hosting this with me Goregirl. Here’s to buzzers and bells… whistles and floating skeletons and certificates of fright & those dreary afternoons on the living room floor when a brilliantly kooky ringmaster drew our attentions to the tube and kept us there all these years…

    Do you believe in William Castle? Yes we do!

    • goregirl Says:

      I never disassembled any appliances!! Haha! I sent away for sea monkey’s though and a really crappy detective kit! It’s gonna be a gas!

  2. Sounds like it’ll be a lot of fun. And the announcement’s timing is amazing, as I just recently watched a few William Castle movies lol.

  3. conradw58 Says:

    Sounds like a blast! I was fortunate enough to see several of Castle’s films on the big screen in the 1960’s(I Saw What You Did,Let’s Kill Uncle) and a dusk til dawn Castle fest at the drive-in in the Summer of 1965 that featured House on Haunted Hill(alas,without Emergo). “They’re coming for me now…then they’ll come for you!”

    • goregirl Says:

      I am going to keep my own Castle post plans hush-hush…but I’m really looking forward to it! Sadly I haven’t seen a Castle film on the big-screen…there are so many great films I wish I could see on the big screen!

  4. Hello! What a wonderful blogfest idea! I would love to join up – big William Castle fan here! Can you email me any details I need to know, or I could email you guys?

    • goregirl Says:

      Hi Craig, I saved your details. Ideally we want to avoid duplication of reviewed titles so if you want to peruse the list at the bottom of this post and let me know what film you’d like to cover I’ll write you down for a spot and send you details closer to the event.

      • I’d like to keep my details under wraps – just like you – but I would be doing four posts – one for each day. If you need more details before endorsing my request I’d be happy to email them to you if you will send me an email to get started.

  5. I’d love to take “Slaves of Babylon” (1953) and “The Saracen Blade” (1954). A peplum and a swashbuckler may not be what comes to mind when one thinks of William Castle, but they have some of his trademark flourishes.

    RayRay
    http://www.WeirdFlix.com

    • goregirl Says:

      Hi Ray, Great choices! I will be posting an update Thursday Night (June 20) and will include a link to Weird Flix along with your two review picks!

  6. Capital “D” D’aaaw… late to the party here. Ah well. I’ll grab a banner and promote this on the weekend (still buried under post E3 work)….

    g.

  7. […] At the top of this page was one of a quartet of delightful banners created by Jo. These banners were posted with my original announcement; you can access the other three here. […]

  8. I would love to participate by showcasing the newspaper ads for William Castle’s film career over the years at Scenes from the Morgue if you’ll have me.

    Here’s a sample: http://scenesfromthemorgue.wordpress.com/tag/house-on-haunted-hill/

    • goregirl Says:

      Greetings! Those are pretty neato! Fantastic actually. Sure…We’d be happy to have you. I hate to ask you right off the bat, but I’ll need a date from you in the next day or two…we are posting a final schedule of events this week. Cheers…and nifty site by the way 🙂

      • Sorry for coming in so late, but I just stumbled upon the Blogathon today! Put me down for Thursday, August 1, please and thank you. I’ll get a banner up on the site today.

        • goregirl Says:

          Excellent…happy to have you on board! Look for your site and link on my final schedule this Friday.

  9. […] as part of The William Castle Blogathon, hosted by The Last Drive In and Goregirl’s Dungeon, we’re going to take a closer look […]

Leave a Reply

