The Versatile Blogger Award

versatile-blogger-award-black-299x288Jo over at The Last Drive-in has nominated me for The Versatile Blogger Award. The definition of “versatile” according to The Free Dictionary is Capable of doing many things competently. Having varied uses or serving many functions: “The most versatile of vegetables is the tomato” (Craig Claiborne). Variable or inconstant; changeable: a versatile temperament. Biology Capable of moving freely in all directions, as the antenna of an insect, the toe of an owl, or the loosely attached anther of a flow. I like that word “versatile”. I rather dig the idea of being a loosely attached anther of a flow. Thanks for the tip of the hat Jo; you’re the ginchiest! In keeping with the award’s tradition here are seven things you may not know about me.

Just call me Joe…for my friend Jo…

Seven Things You May Not Know About Me…

I have had a long time dream to visit Italy and tour every location Lucio Fulci ever filmed. I would love to make a documentary about Fulci’s career.

I am madly insanely crazy about Kids in the Hall; I got a little misty when the show went off the air. I also have an unhealthy obsession with the Kids in the Hall movie Brain Candy which I think is one of the funniest comedies ever!

When I was a little girl I would play a car crash game similar to Taffy’s in Female Trouble. When we went through the car wash I would pretend the car had plunged into the ocean and was slowly filling with water. I would claw furiously at the windows yelling to be saved.

I watched so many Hammer horror films when I was a kid that I thought every woman had huge boobs. Apparently I once asked my mom when hers were going to grow.

madeline smith

A school guidance counsellor recommended my parents send me to a child psychologist.

One very drunken evening I got into an argument with a woman in a bar and got up on the table and walked through her food.

In the 90s I managed a record store for three years, than I worked in a fancy knife store for a couple of years, than I managed a less fancy knife store for a few years, than another record store, than the music section of a book store. In the 90s I was all about the knives and music.

Part of acceptance is passing on the nomination love to other bloggers so…boom!

My Kind of Story

The Droid You’re Looking For

Mondo Heather

Anti-film School

Basement Screams

Deep Red Rum

19 Responses to “The Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. This is a cute post! I like this – and yes, you ARE very versatile! 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your Versie!

  3. This is too hilarious… we should have been pals when we were little, we could have done some real damage…love it!!!

    • goregirl Says:

      I always wanted a friend who liked what I liked when I was a kid. We could have made the best haunted house in my garage and charged kids in the neighbourhood .25 cents to get in.

      • You know, I’m pretty sure that’s the kind of stuff I did as a little kid on the block by myself, and why most the ‘normal’ kids started calling me MonsterGirl. gee I wish we had been pals back then. I could have avoided being locked in my neighbors basement for a day and being tormented by them ruthlessly for years… I was also the gypsy fortune teller at the neighborhood carnivals… big surprise

        • goregirl Says:

          I had an MD Carnival with a haunted shed! I have never outgrown my love of carnivals. In fact, I don’t think I’ve outgrown a lot of things I loved as a child. Still dressing up for Halloween and Zombie Walk and I love horror movies more than ever.

  4. She’ll show us a few tricks, some old and then some new tricks…she’s VERY versatile!

    Congratulations…and remember: It’s an honor just to be nominated.

    • goregirl Says:

      And if you’re real good, I’ll make you feel good … Hey! This song gets a little racy!

  5. Holy crap, Goregirl! Thanks a bunch for the award and congrats! And you just scored 100 bad ass points for walking through that chick’s food. Thanks again!

    • goregirl Says:

      Prego Steve! Yeah,,,I occassionally do some bat-shit crazy stupid stuff when I’m liquored.

  6. Hearty congratulations,Gore Girl! Well deserved! I enjoyed your little known facts! Most of my history of the past 20 years can be found on FBI 10 most wanted posters! ; )

  7. Capitalize Says:

    Something about pee wee herman has always frightened me

    • goregirl Says:

      Don’t be afraid of Pee-Wee…he might have some candy for you…or possibly something in his pocket he wants to show you.

Leave a Reply

