TWELVE FILMS I DIG WITH FLOWERS IN THEIR TITLE!

What a bloody gorgeous day it was today! I had to take my coat off on the way home. That makes me happy. Something else that makes me happy is that Vera Chytilová’s Daisies (1966) is on its way to my mailbox! That got me to thinking about films with flowers in their titles. This brain don’t never stop working. I am in a spring kind of mood and to celebrate here are twelve films I dig with flowers in their title…

THE CASE OF THE BLOODY IRIS (1972)
Directed By: Giuliano Carnimeo

If you know me you knew there would be at least one Giallo on the list. The Case of the Bloody Iris features the requisite twists and Giallo mainstays Edwige Fenech and George Hilton.

CURSE OF THE GOLDEN FLOWER (2006)
Directed By: Yimou Zhang

Astounding visuals and Chow Yun Fat; what’s not to like about Curse of the Golden Flower?

RAMBLING ROSE (1991)
Directed By: Martha Coolidge

I’m a big fan of Laura Dern and I think she is outstanding in Rambling Rose. The only trailer I could find for the film was this bloody awful industry marketing thing so here is a clip instead.

WHAT’S UP TIGER LILY? (1966)
Directed By: Woody Allen & Senkichi Taniguchi

What’s Up Tiger Lily? is silly and corny but I have long had a huge soft spot for it.

SEVEN BLOOD-STAINED ORCHIDS (1972)
Directed By: Umberto Lenzi

Another Giallo! Seven Blood-Stained Orchids is an Umberto Lenzi directed flick and is one of his best in my opinion.

DAYS OF WINE AND ROSES (1962)
Directed By: Blake Edwards

Jack Lemmon isn’t in horror films which is why you may not know I am a fan of Jack Lemmon.

THE DAY OF THE TRIFFIDS (1962)
Directed By: Steve Sekely

Look out! Okay, a triffid is a fictional flower but it is still a damn flower! To read my review click here.

WAR OF THE ROSES (1989)
Directed By: Danny DeVito

“When I look at you lately I just want to smash your face in!”

MAGNOLIA (1999)
Directed By: Paul Thomas Anderson

Magnolia is one of my favourite films from the past decade-ish.

THE IRON ROSE (1973)
Directed By: Jean Rollin

The Iron Rose is one of Jean Rollin’s best!

THE FLOWER OF MY SECRET (1995)
Directed By: Pedro Almodóvar

The Flower of my Secret is not my favourite Almodóvar but there is no bad Almodóvar if you ask me; just varying degrees of fondness.

FUNERAL PARADE OF ROSES (1969)
Directed By: Toshio Matsumoto

I watched this Japanese masterpiece for the first time just recently; to read my review click here.

12 Responses to “TWELVE FILMS I DIG WITH FLOWERS IN THEIR TITLE!”

  1. Does “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” count? Maybe not, but I recommend it! Vlizz did a review of it when it came out here: http://vlizz.com/2012/10/06/the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-review/

  2. Awesome list!

  3. I love THE CASE OF THE BLOODY IRIS. I haven’t seen,
    SEVEN BLOOD-STAINED ORCHIDS or THE IRON ROSE but they are on my want list.

  4. conradw58 Says:

    A great dozen! I’m a big Jack Lemmon fan myself. Another rosy post from the always fun Gore Girl! : )

  5. I was so certain you were going to put Steel Magnolias at number 1 😉

    Vera Chytilová’s Daisies has been in a couple of issues of Sight & Sound so I know what film you’re talking about but I haven’t seen many on this list. I have seen Magnolia and The War of the Roses.

    Magnolia is one of the best American films I have seen. All of the cast give brilliant performances from William H. Macey and John C. Reilly to Tom Cruise. I think I may have shed a tear or two at the end.

    Lately I have wanted to re-watch The War of the Roses. It’s one of those 80’s films like The Money Pit I remember watching years ago and sort of enjoying. I wonder how I’ react to them today.

    Funeral Parade of Roses is on a to-watch list… right after my Japanese essay and anime reviews and Cannes and oh my, so much…

    • goregirl Says:

      yeah. hilarious 😛

      I am busting at the seams excited about seeing Daisies!

      Magnolia is amazing…even Tom Cruise who I really don’t care for is good in his role.

      You might be able to find War of the Roses on YouTube for free. It’s not a movie you need to see on blu-ray. Funeral Parade of Roses was just spectacular…you’ve got too much to do.

Leave a Reply

