THE MUMMY’S REVENGE (1973) – The Dungeon Photo Review!

I’ve said it before and I will say it again and again; I love Paul Naschy. As is often his shtick; he plays multiple roles in The Mummy’s Revenge. Here he plays Amenhotep (both manly and moldy mummy form) and Assad Bey a wealthy modern-day descendant. I have no complaints about any of the cast; Jack Taylor is excellent as Professor Stern, María Silva is charming as Abigail, Helga Liné gives her usual solid and sexy performance and Rina Ottolina who plays both Helen and Amarna is empathetic and gorgeous. Carlos Aured (who directed one of my other all-time favourite Naschy flicks Curse of the Devil) directs with gusto. The sets are simply superb! I loved how they went to the trouble of draping the sacrificial maidens in the same gauzy fabric as the curtains that adorned the room. Nice touch! The costumes and makeup were also a real treat. There is a significant quantity of throat-cutting and head squishing adorned with nice bright red paint-like blood. This DVD was a lovely clean print and it was a real treat to see some Naschy subtitled! There is only one way to honor a film like The Mummy’s Revenge; a picture review.

New Picture

New Picture (3)
Amenhotep rules his kingdom with a ruthless hand! Here he is with his favourite concubine Amarna enjoying some torture and death while they feast.

New Picture (4)
The blood is a sacrifice to their god.

New Picture (5)
Needless to say; the people are unsatisfied with Amenhotep’s rule.

New Picture (6)
Sure Mr. Amenhotep, I would be more than happy to fetch you a drink. 

New Picture (7)
“They’ve poisoned me!”

New Picture (9)
“One day I will be free and I shall unleash my hatred upon the world.”

New Picture (10)
Amenhotep in his fancy sarcophagus.

New Picture (11)
Professor Nathan Stern and Abigail discovering Amenhotep’s sarcophagus.

New Picture (12)
These two might be up to no good.

New Picture (14)
Landsbury Foundation – Ancient Art Collection (they keep art there).

New Picture (15)
“This is one of the greatest archeological discoveries…”

New Picture (16)
Reading from the papyrus found in a box near Amenhotep’s body: “We will bury him alive so that his black spirit roams without peace or tranquility”.

New Picture (17)
“You’ll have to forgive me, my head hurts badly.” She thinks her head hurts now! 

New Picture (18)
“…Then when the confluence of the stars is propitious…” I felt the need to include this partial sentence.

New Picture (19)
Three maidens walking alone at night; this one fell down. “Anne, Marie! Come here please!”

New Picture (20)
Back to sacrificing…must bring back Amenhotep!

New Picture (21)
“Horus, Favourite of Osiris…” Blah blah bring back Amenhotep!

New Picture (22)
“It’s horrible, horrible Mr. Commissioner, the three have disappeared.”

New Picture (23)
Now to give the blood to Amenhotep… Zanufer, you hold the incense.

New Picture (24)
It’s alive!

New Picture (25)
I’m squishing your head!

New Picture (26)
“That’s absurd, incredible; a mummy can’t come back to life!”

New Picture (27)
“…to free me from my millennial immobility…” I can’t deny, millennial immobility would suck.

New Picture (28)
Holy shit! Is that a freaking mummy?!

New Picture (29)
After millennial immobility Amenhotep sure knows how to get around!

New Picture (31)
“There is something perverse about Assad Bey, disquieting.”

New Picture (32)
Cool peephole shot of Professor Stern and Helen as they drop by uninvited to the Assad Bey household.

New Picture (33)
Peephole shot from their perspective.

New Picture (34)

Helen (who bares a striking resemblance to Amenhotep’s favourite concubine Amarna) falls under the trance of the moldy mummy who wanders nearby.

New Picture (37)

The crippled Sir Douglas Carter alone.

New Picture (38)

The mummy approaches…

New Picture (39)

Assad Bey and Zanufer discuss double-crossing Amenhotep.

New Picture (40)

Professor Stern and Abigail surprised in the dark by Amenhotep.

New Picture (42)

The final scene…I will leave you guessing.

New Picture (43)

Fin.

Dungeon Rating: 4/5

Directed By: Carlos Aured

Starring: Paul Naschy, Jack Taylor, María Silva, Helga Liné, Eduardo Calvo, Fernando Sánchez Polack, Luis Gaspar, José Yepes, Juan Antonio Soler

12 Responses to “THE MUMMY’S REVENGE (1973) – The Dungeon Photo Review!”

  1. I just looked up Naschy’s filmography, and it seems that I’m apparently the worst so-called horror fan ever, lol. I’m gonna have to fix that very soon. And an excellent review as always. 🙂

    • And by worst fan (which I mean to explain in the previous comment) is that I don’t seem to have seen one single Naschy movie. That is what I need to fix very soon. 😛

      • goregirl Says:

        I have seen 1000s of horror films and I still run into directors and films I’ve never heard of…it never ends man!

    • goregirl Says:

      He has a huge resume! He has been a werewolf 11 times or so. I recommend this Mummy one, it is a good Naschy starter, I also like Night of the Werewolf, Curse of the Devil, and Blue Eyes of the Broken Doll…Horror rises from the Tomb is fun too!

  2. conradw58 Says:

    I remember seeing a grainy ,cut to bits 16 MM print of The Mummy’s Revenge on late night TV back in the 1970’s ,and even so , enjoyed the heck out of it. Seeing this beautiful print in letterbox(on good old You Tube)was a real revelation! Hell of a directorial debut for Carlos Aured wasn’t it? And then considering Aured followed this up with Curse of the Devil and Horror Rises From the Tomb makes the director something special. The Mummy’s Revenge is for sure one of my top ten favorite Paul Naschy films! Outstanding review ,Gore Girl!

    • goregirl Says:

      Ugh! I’ve seen soooooooo many poor copies of Naschy films. Aured is awesome…Mummy and Curse are such an entertaining duo! I love Night of the Werewolf it was number four on my ten favourite werewolf films. I really enjoyed Blue Eyes of the Broken Doll too. I watched a Dragonfly for Each Corpse recently and it was pretty good also…REALLY Badly dubbed though.

      • conradw58 Says:

        Same here , I’ve watched some really crappy copies of Paul Naschy films. A lot of the films I watched on You Tube are gone because of copyright issues which seem insane. : ( Night of the Werewolf , Blue Eyes of the Broken Doll, and A Dragonfly for Each Corpse are all films I’ve seen and enjoy. I’ve probably seen most of the horror films Naschy made and even the wacky Operation Mantis(alas not in English). Naschy is awesome and he loved his fans. I like the music for The Mummy’s Revenge , too!

  3. Nice site, added you to our links page

  4. The real question is, does the film live up to its titular promise? Does the mummy get revenge?

Leave a Reply

