Goregirl’s Favourite Composers of the 1990s: HOWARD SHORE

Fellow Canadian Howard Shore is best known in my world as being a frequent collaborator with another Canadian; director extraordinaire David Cronenberg. Shore scored Cronenberg’s 1979 film The Brood and has scored almost every one of Cronenberg’s films since. These days Shore is best known for composing the award winning score for Peter Jackson’s immensely popular The Lord of the Rings trilogy and the recent The Hobbit; but his work with Mr. Cronenberg will always remain my personal favourites. Shore was a member of the Canadian band Lighthouse (1969 – 1972) and created his musical magic for Lorne Michaels and Hart Pomerants’s The Hart & Lorne Show. He followed his short lived stint on The Hart & Lorne Show with another Lorne Michael project and became music director for the long running show Saturday Night Live from 1975 – 1980. Shore composed a ton of scores through the 80s but since this is a feature focusing on the 90s I included only his resume from that decade. By no means do I love every film on this list but Shore sure did score a lot of popular films from the decade.

1990 Made in Milan (documentary short)
1990 Scales of Justice
1990 The Local Stigmatic
1991 A Kiss Before Dying
1991 Naked Lunch
1991 The Silence of the Lambs
1992 Prelude to a Kiss
1992 Single White Female
1993 Guilty as Sin
1993 M. Butterfly
1993 Mrs. Doubtfire
1993 Philadelphia
1993 Sliver
1994 Ed Wood
1994 Nobody’s Fool
1994 The Client
1995 Moonlight and Valentino
1995 Se7en
1995 White Man’s Burden
1996 Before and After
1996 Crash
1996 Looking for Richard (documentary)
1996 Striptease
1996 That Thing You Do!
1996 The Truth About Cats & Dogs
1997 Cop Land
1997 The Game
1999 Analyze This
1999 Dogma
1999 eXistenZ
1999 Gloria

I was surprised how much Howard Shore I had in my collection and yet I had not a single piece from the composer posted on my YouTube channel! Clearly that needed to be rectified! Music and images from James Mangold’s 1997 film Cop Land. Mashed Potatoes Don’t Mean Gravy composed by Howard Shore.

There will be more Howard Shore tracks to come but here is one more newly posted piece; one of his excellent collaborations with Mr. Cronenberg. Music and images from David Cronenberg’s 1996 film Crash. Music composed by Howard Shore.

6 Responses to “Goregirl’s Favourite Composers of the 1990s: HOWARD SHORE”

  1. I must admit I am so obsessed with the composers for Italian film scores of yore as well as “old school” American film music,that my knowledge and collecting of anything post 1980’s is sorely lacking. I am familiar with Howard Shore,and enjoyed both your selections. I thought Cop Land was a good crime thriller with a terrific cast and a pretty good,non mumbling performance from Stallone. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen Crash,but I know I liked it at the time. I’m with you about David Cronenberg,incredible director. I need to catch up with some of his later films. I recall enjoying Shore’s score for Ed Wood a lot.

    • I am all about the pre-90s stuff when it comes to soundtracks. I have very little 90s to present. Unfortunately the 90s soundtracks I have are all non-horror; with the exception of a few compilations that feature the odd 90s peice. I have been checking out the cd trader regularly and have picked up a few things cheap, and recently discovered a few soundtracks hiding in my collection. Thank god I back my stuff up on an external harddrive because my last computer crashed suddenly some while back. When I transferred the music on to my current computer some of it was jumbled and some seems to have disappeared. In any case I found a folder I called OST (original sound track) inside of my Violent Femmes folder a week back and it had five soundtracks in it I thought were lost forever! I sure wish I had that Ed Wood soundtrack…that music was FANTASTIC!!

      • conradw58 Says:

        I’m sure glad you didn’t lose those soundtracks! I could kick myself for not buying Shore’s score to Ed Wood(love that movie!). I found parts of the score on You Tube. Your post sent me there. : )

  2. Shore is my favorite! Perfect accompaniment for an evening of horror fiction reading.

  3. I knew there was a reason I liked Lighthouse!

Leave a Reply

