PUSSY POWER: Five Horror Films Featuring Black Cats

Black cats are unfairly maligned creatures. A disproportionate number of black cats are left un-adopted and are put down every year. Could it really be because people believe black cats are bad luck? Stupidest damn thing I ever heard! My black cat Vegas died this year and it broke my heart. I almost considered burying her in that old Pet Sematary Fred Gwynne warned me about. I have been cat and dog shopping recently which got me to thinking about pets in horror films. So in honor of my fabulous cat Vegas here are five Goregirl-friendly films featuring black cats….

YOUR VICE IS A LOCKED ROOM AND ONLY I HAVE THE KEY (1972)
Directed By: Sergio Martino

Edgar Allan Poe has never been this sexy! One of my favourite giallo! Read my review here.

KURONEKO (1968)
Directed By: Kaneto Shindô

Gorgeous, eerie, perfect. Read my review here.

THE UNCANNY (1977)
Directed By: Denis Héroux

A Canadian made anthology featuring more cats than you can shake a stick at! It also features a top notch cast including Peter Cushing, Samantha Eggar, Ray Milland, Susan Penhaligon, Donald Pleasence and John Vernon. The stories range in quality but I think this one is absolutely worth a peek.

THE TOMB OF LIGEIA (1964)
Directed By: Roger Corman

One of the great Roger Corman and Vincent Price Edgar Allan Poe collaborations. I will be giving this the proper review treatment for my November 60s feature. Ligeia also happens to be one of my very favourite Poe tales.

TWO EVIL EYES (1990)
Directed By: Dario Argento & George A. Romero

Two Evil Eyes features the epic directorial collaboration of Romero and Argento; each one adapting an Edgar Allan Poe story for the screen. I’ve read a few reviews that tear Two Evil Eyes a new orifice and I say foo! Is it a five out of five? Well no, but it definitely has its moments of greatness not to mention a top notch cast including Adrienne Barbeau, E.G. Marshall, Harvey Keitel, Kim Hunter and Tom Atkins.

11 Responses to “PUSSY POWER: Five Horror Films Featuring Black Cats”

  1. I badly need to catch up with classic Japanese horror. You’ve mentioned a few on Twitter, all of which I’m well familiar with but which have been sitting in my rental queue for an eternity.

    Definitely liked Your Vice… Fenech looked adorable with that bob cut. 🙂 I also enjoyed Ligeia and Two Evil Eyes. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of The Uncanny.

    So sorry for your loss, Goregirl. R.I.P. Vegas

    • I have a lot of Japanese stuff still to discover but I have thoroughly enjoyed what I’ve seen from the 60s and 70s. Not just the horror…quite fond of the sexploitation-action flicks too particularly Yasuzô Masumura and Teruo Ishii’s stuff. The 80s get a little sketchy with the rapey-nasty-torture stuff like the Guinea Pig series or Beautiful Teacher in Torture Hell and its ilk.

      The bob is adorable! Fenech is crazy sexy in Vice! Thanks for the condolences.

  2. Your post is a fine tribute to your friend. Our animal buddies are special,and I’m sorry for your loss. Very cool selection of films. I love Your Vice Is A Locked Room And Only I Have The Key.What a great title for an exceptional movie. The Tomb of Ligeia and Kuroneko(a non giant monsters Japanese horror film I’ve actually seen) are first rate,too. I like the Uncanny and Two Evil Eyes as well. I agree,some reviews are awfully rough on Two Evil Eyes. I think it’s one of the better offerings from the “what happened” decade.

    • Thanks Conrad-it is true…they really are special. I think you might really like a lot of the 70s Japanese stuff especially Teruo Ishii; it is more action-sexplotiation than horror but flicks like Red Silk Gambler, The Tattooed Swordswoman and its ilk are a hell of a lot of fun. Also the Lone Wolf and Cub series is great. I really like Kenji Misumi stuff alot; especially his 60s Zatoichi films (Zatoichi and the chess master is an all time fave). The “what happended” decade – that’s good – you are right it is certainly one of the better offerings of the 90s.

      • I will for sure check out those Japanese films from the 1960’s and ’70s you mentioned! I have seen the Lone Wolf films,and they are incredible!

  3. Goregirl- I’m so glad you posted this about black cats. So very sorry to hear about your losing Vegas. I’ve always had black cats, and I too lost my beloved Zelly not too long ago. It took a piece of my heart away when she died. Historically Cats in general have not been treated well in cinema, or I shudder when I think of The Burning Times. We still have Laszlo here. He looks like an Egyptian prince, he’s so svelt and gorgeous and BLACK!

    I’m working on a post on Curse of The Cat People, and I too mention, the absurd and unfounded fear of black cats.

    I also, banish horror films from my library that show cruelty to cats. Oh how I wish, I could rewatch The Killing Kind without cringing…

    Good luck with your search for a new companion. And thanks again as always for posting such interesting and thoughtful stuff~ your fan
    MonsterGirl (joey)

    • It is true, cats often do not fair well in film! I really do miss my girl! Especially her protesting about me being on the computer too much. She would just hop right up on the desk and walk all over the keyboard! She was super chatty too. I have only adopted adult cats previously but I am seriously considering a kitten. Not just a kitten but maybe also a puppy. I figure if they grow up together they will be friends and keep each other company when I’m not there. Thanks for the kind words Joey.

  4. RIP, Vegas.

    My friends have what they call a “Holstein Cat” (it looks like a holstein cow), and it’s one of the most friendly pets I’ve ever been around.

    Whatever animal you choose next, I hope it has an awesome horrory name.

  5. I’ve always wondered where that superstition about black cats came from… It’s wholly irrational. I have one and she’s fantastic. In the UK, we believe they are good luck. Vegas looks so cute in that picture!

    That’s a great line-up of films. Kuroneko is a classic and YOUR VICE IS A LOCKED ROOM AND ONLY I HAVE THE KEY is such a great title (as I have mentioned before). I enjoyed the trailer and so I’m going to watch this film soon enough.

    • Irrational indeed! I love that pic of Vegas…she was a super awesome kung fu fighting feline! I do love my Giallo – I don’t really know how you feel about Giallo – if you enjoy nothing else, you should at very least enjoy Edwige – she is very MEOW in this one. 😉

Leave a Reply

