Goregirl’s Dungeon on YouTube: Mondo Cane – Riz Ortolani & Nino Oliviero

Mondo Cane is an interesting little curio that I think deserves a review. It will not qualify for the top ten horror film lists (Mondo Cane is a documentary) but I am definitely reviewing this in November for my 60s feature.

Music and images from Paolo Cavara, Gualtiero Jacopetti, Franco Prosperi’s 1962 documentary film Mondo Cane. Music by Riz Ortolani and Nino Oliviero (Cargo Cult – end title).

4 Responses to “Goregirl’s Dungeon on YouTube: Mondo Cane – Riz Ortolani & Nino Oliviero”

  1. Great stuff,Goregirl! The film spawned a number of similar Italian made documentaries in the 1960’s,and there are a zillion versions of the theme song “More”. I like that tune,yet I’m glad you selected a bit of the soundtrack that is not as familiar. I’m a big Riz Ortolani fan,but then I love all the Italian film composers of that era!

    • P.S Forgot to add that Mondo Bolordo is narrated by Boris Karloff while Vincent Price handles the duties in Taboos of the World. I could watch Italian films and from the 1960s,70s and 80s 24/7! Ditto for the soundtracks!

      • Conrad-you certainly know your stuff! I must admit, I know little to nothing about the “mondo” films. This is the only Mondo film I have seen (if you don’t count Waters’ completely unrelated Mondo Trasho or Mr. Mike’s Mondo Video; which I guess is supposed to be a riff on Mondo Cane?). I had no idea Boris Karloff narrated a mondo film! I noticed Something weird had this as a double feature with Jayne Mansfield’s Primitive Love (which has been on my to see list for a while)! I am seriously considering purchasing this…

        • Thanks for the kind words. I enjoy talking about these films. I think Mr. Mike’s Mondo Video is a sendup of Mondo Cane. I know you’re a big Boris Karloff fan(me,too!)and I enjoyed Mondo Balordo because Boris is the narrator. Primitive Love is one of a slew of comedies featuring the duo of Franco and Ciccio. I’ve seen quite a few Franco and Ciccio movies. They have worked with Mario Bava and Lucio Fulci! I bought the Something Weird DVD at Borders before they closed and wasn’t disappointed. Not great movies,but watchable. : )

Leave a Reply

