Vancouver Zombie Walk 2012 & Zombie August

The Vancouver Zombie Walk is this upcoming Saturday, August 18, 2012 starting at 3:00pm!!! When it comes to Zombie Walk I am like a child at Christmas! As I write this there is six sleeps until the big event. It is literally an all day event that involves hearty amounts of latex, liquor and paparazzi. I am going for a more rotting look this year and you’ll get a sample of my rottenness with a video of my top 10 favourite zombie films in full makeup. The zombie mayhem will continue after the walk with pictures and video from the 2012 Vancouver Zombie Walk, written reviews, trailers, and a bunch of other zombie-related awesomeness!

Vancouver Zombie Walk details taken from 2012 Vancouver Zombie Walk facebook page.

Here are some Goregirl pics from previous years…

Vancouver Zombie Walk 2008…

Vancouver Zombie Walk 2009…

Vancouver Zombie Walk 2010…

Vancouver Zombie Walk 2011…

Zombie Walk has a Wikipedia page! Here is their definition of what a zombie walk is;

“A zombie walk (also known as a zombie mob, zombie march, zombie horde, zombie lurch, zombie shamble, zombie shuffle, zombie monsta-mash, zombie irrigation, zombie hurricane or zombie crawl) is an organized public gathering of people who dress up in zombie costumes. Usually taking place in an urban center, the participants make their way around the city streets and through shopping malls to a public space (or a series of taverns in the case of a zombie pub crawl) in a somewhat orderly fashion.”

They had a list of World Records so I found pictures for the three last Guinness World Record holders; Mexico City, New Jersey and Ledbury, Herefordshire. Those are some impressive turnouts!

“In October 2009 Guinness World Records officially recorded and approved a new record for the largest gathering of zombies. The record was set at ‘The Big Chill Festival’ in Ledbury, Herefordshire on 6 August 2009. There were 4,026 zombie mob participants.”

“Guinness officially recognized a new record for the world’s largest gathering of zombies on 30 October 2010 at the 3rd annual New Jersey Zombie Walk on the Asbury Park Boardwalk in Asbury Park, New Jersey. Guinness recorded 4,093 zombies at the event, though organizers along with police and fire officials estimate more than 5,000 zombies were in attendance.”

“In November 2011, Mexico broke a new world record for largest zombie gathering. Guinness officially counted 9,806 participants, surpassing the previous record established by Asbury Park, New Jersey.”

5 Responses to “Vancouver Zombie Walk 2012 & Zombie August”

  1. Great photos there of you in your zombie walk 2008-2011 regalia/make-up,Goregirl! Looks like a blast. Have fun!

    • I really love my zombie walk! It is like being a movie star for a day with all the people taking your picture and asking to pose with you etc! Being a movie star would lose its shine for me pretty quick though I thinketh. Zombie walk and halloween are quite enough stardom for me for a year!!

  2. I like all those pics of you, but the 60s zombie look is the best. I love the teased-flipped hairstyle and the blood tears.

    • Thank you! I was pleased with that costume until a friend said I looked more like a vampire than a zombie. I wish he hadn’t told me that before the walk cause I couldn’t get it out of my head…at the end of the day I had to agree. Bloody hell! There will be no mistaking whether or not I am a zombie this year though!!

  3. Appreciation to my father who informed me about this web site, this web site is genuinely awesome.

    Jocelyn

Leave a Reply

