Toho March has arrived!

Toho March has arrived! I am celebrating Japanese studio Toho’s contributions to cinema all month long! I will not only be reviewing horror films either. In the queue are the films of Ishiro Honda, Mikio Naruse, Takashi Tsuboshima and Akira Kurosawa. Speaking of Ishiro Honda, he will be the subject of my first post, which I will be following up with a review of his monster extravaganza Destroy All Monsters! I will have my first post up shortly! TOHO RULES!


Now this is my kind of Christmas Tree!

10 Responses to “Toho March has arrived!”

  1. I’m watching all of Akira Kurosawa’s films from the 1940’s onwards. I’m totally interested in Mikio Naruse since he’s only just been getting attention in the west these past couple of years.

    • goregirl Says:

      I’m pretty stoked about reviewing non-horror films for a change. Of course, I will have some horror in the mix, but a lot less than what you normally see around here. My first Kurosawa review will be one of his 1940 efforts and When a Woman Ascends the Stairs is waiting for me to pick it up from the library right now!

      • So far I’ve found Kurosawa’s 1940’s films to be rather clunky – that said it was at the very beginning of his career. His 1960’s films are enjoyable but when you compare him to somebody like Ozu you can see the gulf in class.

  2. This theme makes me so happy.

    I saw When a Woman Ascends the Stairs in a theater a few years ago. It’s fantastic. One day I hope you Nikkatsu November so you can tackle the insanity of Imamura and Koreyoshi Kurahara.

    I also think Kurosawa’s I Live in Fear has one of the ballsiest endings of its day.

  3. Aaron Babcock Says:

    We are apparently brain twins this month! 😛 Looking forward to all of your reviews! It’s going to be a great March!

    • goregirl Says:

      Wonder Twins activate…shape of Godzilla! Is that right? It has been a while since I watched Wonder Twins.

      I’ve been meaning to do a Toho Month for a very long time! Toho’s library covers so many different genres from the 40s to present! I am going to try to fit in as much as I can.

  4. […] announced that she will be reviewing the films of Ishiro Honda, Akira Kurosawa and Mikio Naruse which is […]

  5. […] Kuroneko. Shindo’s Onibaba is one of my favourite horror films of all time! During my Toho March feature I discovered the production company had many masterpieces that weren’t monster […]

  6. Victor De Leon Says:

    Toho rules!

Leave a Reply

