SVANKMAJER SUNDAY!

I picked up a Jan Svankmajer short film collection from the library yesterday. I was so inspired by its awesomeness that I created two slideshows in celebration of Mr. Svankmajer! There is no one quite like him. Svankmajer’s delightfully demented combination of live action and stop-motion animation is an absolute fucking treat! It makes me sad he only has six feature length films. I highly recommend checking out any Svankmajer film; and if you can get your hands on any of his short film collections you will be the richer for it. Below is a list of Svankmajer’s films with links for the ones I have reviewed. Sadly, I don’t own any Svankmajer film soundtracks so music is courtesy of Jefferson Airplane and XTC.

Alice (1988)
Faust (1994)
Conspirators of Pleasure (1996)
Little Otik (2000)
Lunacy (2005)
Surviving Life (2010)

The Collected Shorts of Jan Svankmajer: The Early Years Vol. 1
The Collected Shorts of Jan Svankmajer: The Later Years Vol. 2
The Complete Short Films

White Rabbit – Jefferson Airplane w/images from Jan Svankmajer’s Alice.
Svankmajer’s Alice is the cat’s ass of the Carroll interpretations. Granted White Rabbit was a bit of an obvious choice here but I think it perfectly compliments Svankmajer’s wonderfully trippy, warped and whimsical vision.

XTC – Senses Working Overtime featuring the films of Jan Svankmajer.
The whimsical, weird and wonderfully wicked world of Jan Svankmajer! Svankmajer’s mix of stop-motion animation and live action masterpieces are a feast for the eyes and an assault on the senses! I recommend every last film in this slideshow. My apologies to those living in Montenegro and Serbia; this video is blocked in those locations.

4 Responses to “SVANKMAJER SUNDAY!”

  1. Oh Lord… His version of the White Rabbit and its first appearance gave me the creeps when I first saw it.

    Excuse me while I go experiment with some LSD… Actually after watching that video I’d better not…

  2. Naturgeister…

    SVANKMAJER SUNDAY! « GOREGIRL’S DUNGEON…

  3. […] have reviewed three of Jan Svankmajer’s films and made two slideshows in his honour. You could say I am a fan. The following is a blurb from my review for Surviving Life […]

Leave a Reply

