Eisenhower & The Horror Movies – Part 2


My father was a big fan of Hammer films and monster flicks. My father’s love and enthusiasm for these films was contagious. I adored these films when I was a kid but I discovered blood and gore and there was no turning back for me. I really only started re-discovering and re-watching this period of film since I started this blog two some odd years ago. I have a ton of films still to see, so I best get to watching!

1956

Invasion of the Body Snatchers and The Bad Seed are two of my favourite horror films of all time. So many more on here I haven’t seen. I’ve got my eye on The Mole People.

Invasion of the Body Snatchers
The Bad Seed
I vampiri
X: The Unknown
Earth vs. the Flying Saucers
Godzilla, King of the Monsters!

Still to see: Notre-Dame de Paris, It Conquered the World, The Werewolf, Sora no daikaijû Radon, Indestructible Man, Swamp Women, The Black Sleep, The Mole People, The Creature Walks Among Us, The Gamma People, The She-Creature, The Beast of Hollow Mountain, Francis in the Haunted House, Fright, El fantasma de la casa roja, Mitsu-kubi-tou, Yotsuya kaidan, Wu ye jing hun, Kyûketsu-ga, Wa gui huan shen, Ghost-Cat of Gojusan-Tsugi, Ghost of Chidori-Ga-Fuchi, Yôun Satomi kaikyoden, He Had to Die, Kaibyo ranbu

1957

My reinvigorated love affair with Hammer will assure at least a couple reviews for films from the studio. The Abominable Snowman and The Curse of Frankenstein are two strong Hammer Studio entries and are definitely review contenders. The Saga of the Viking Women and Their Voyage to the Waters of the Great Sea Serpent; with a title this long it has gotta be good!

Night of the Demon
I Was a Teenage Werewolf
The Curse of Frankenstein
20 Million Miles to Earth
The Giant Claw
The Abominable Snowman
Zombies of Mora Tau
The Black Scorpion
The Deadly Mantis
Voodoo Island

Still to see: Attack of the Crab Monsters, Quatermass 2, Not of This Earth, The Saga of the Viking Women and Their Voyage to the Waters of the Great Sea Serpent, The Undead, The Monolith Monsters, The Monster That Challenged the World, Invasion of the Saucer Men, The Brain from Planet Arous. The Cyclops, From Hell It Came, Blood of the Demon, The Unearthly, Voodoo Island, The Astounding She-Monster, She Devil, El vampiro, I Was a Teenage Frankenstein, The Disembodied, The Man Who Turned to Stone, Cat Girl, The Man Without a Body, The Vampire, Voodoo Woman, Pharaoh’s Curse, La momia azteca, Back from the Dead, Daughter of Dr. Jekyll, La maldición de la momia azteca, The Unknown Terror, El jinete sin cabeza, Spook Chasers, El pantano de las ánimas, Ladrón de cadáveres, The Ghost of Kasane, Yambaó

1958

Vincent Price was busy through the Eisenhower years! That suits me just fine! I love me some Vincent Price! More strong Hammer studio entries and of course a ton more I have not seen. Where to start?!

Dracula
The Blob
The Fly
Fiend Without a Face
It! The Terror from Beyond Space
The Crawling Eye
The Revenge of Frankenstein
Earth vs. the Spider
Corridors of Blood
The Screaming Skull
I Bury the Living
Macabre
Attack of the Puppet People

Still to see: Frankenstein’s Daughter, Blood of the Vampire, The Aztec Mummy Against the Humanoid Robot, The Brain Eaters, Frankenstein – 1970, Night of the Blood Beast, War of the Colossal Beast, Grip of the Strangler, Monster on the Campus, The Thing That Couldn’t Die, I Married a Monster from Outer Space, The Strange World of Planet X, How to Make a Monster, Bijo to Ekitaini, ngen, De dødes tjern, F, Curse of the Faceless Man, Giant from the Unknown, El ataúd del Vampiro, Half Human: The Story of the Abominable Snowman, Womaneater, My World Dies Screaming, She Demons, Space Master X-7, Meteor Man, The Bride and the Beast

2 Responses to “Eisenhower & The Horror Movies – Part 2”

  1. Night of the Demon… It has been so long since I’ve seen that film. Now that’s a classic.

Leave a Reply

