Houdini’s Magic Ticket Blog-A-Thon


Below are my entries for TOP 10 Film’s Blog-A-Thon Houdini’s Magic Ticket. To check out the other contributions click here. This is my first time participating in a question-specific blog-a-thon. I thought it would be appropriate, given the nature of my site, to choose all horror film related answers. On the other hand I rarely yak about films that aren’t horror so I decided to mix it up instead.
**********

What character would you most like to be sat next to on a plane?

Sebastian Haff aka Elvis Presley played by Bruce Campbell in Bubba Ho-Tep. Come on! It’s Elvis Presley! Who wouldn’t want to have a chat with the King? Campbell is top notch as Elvis; he looks the part and gives a funny yet empathetic performance.

**********

What character would you most want to enjoy a passionate romance with?

Shaft played by Richard Roundtree! The song says it all! “Who’s the black private dick that’s a sex machine to all the chicks? SHAFT! Ya damn right! Who is the man that would risk his neck for his brother man? SHAFT! Can you dig it? Who’s the cat that won’t cop out when there’s danger all about? SHAFT! Right On! They say this cat Shaft is a bad mother SHUT YOUR MOUTH! I’m talkin’ ’bout Shaft. THEN WE CAN DIG IT! He’s a complicated man but no one understands him but his woman! JOHN SHAFT!” I can definitely dig it! Richard Roundtree is righteous!

**********

If you were a cop who would you want as your partner?

Accept no substitutes; it has got to be Harry Callahan, aka Dirty Harry (played by Clint Eastwood)! Dirty Harry is bad-ass!

**********

What animated feature would you love to walk around in?

The Nightmare Before Christmas. Halloweentown…come on!! I should have been born there!

**********

What adventure based on earth would you most like to go on?

It would be a riot to go on Pee Wee’s Big Adventure. It’s got the word “adventure” right in its title and it’s big! This film is just too damn much fun. I love Pee Wee and his fantastic bicycle! A bicycle so fantastic Pee Wee endeavours on a cross country journey to find it. This film fills me with child-like joy that makes my horror-filled heart overfloweth.

**********

What movie gadget would you love to try out (or steal)?

The virtual reality game port device in ExistenZ. I’m not particularly keen on visiting the ExistenZ’s gaming world. But it sure would be fun to walk around any video game I chose. I would try out icharus wings and rocket skates in Toe Jam and Earl’s world. And the hoverboard race in Conker. Maybe stop by for a visit to Silent Hill or Raccoon City.

**********

What film’s plot would you alter and how would you do it?

High Tension (aka Switchblade Romance). I love the intensity of this film and for most of its runtime it is a brilliant piece of horror cinema. Well acted, well filmed and hardcore nasty and gruesome. I actually included High Tension in my top 25 favourite horror films of the past decade. What was shaping up to be one of the best horror films made in years loses its lustre by the time the final credits role. Telling you what the twist is would be a hardcore spoiler so I will only say that the twist has to go!!! How could you not question some of the previous action after the reveal? There are a few feats of superhuman strength here that made it additionally difficult to accept the reveal. Just a random stranger being revealed as the psycho would have been more satisfactory. How about an angry hate-filled homophobic Christian? He could be motivated to kill a lesbian and her family for their sins. The ending leaves a blemish on what was otherwise a whole lot of awesomeness.

**********

What one film would you most want to be transported into, simply to be a part of that world?

Most Jan Svankmajer films would be a trip worth experiencing; but his take on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is something extra special. Like many of Svankmajer’s films Alice combines stop motion animation with live action. His unique and twisted vision is dark yet whimsical, grotesque yet beautiful and completely mesmerizing. The caterpillar is a sock with googly eyes and dentures! Brilliant!

13 Responses to “Houdini’s Magic Ticket Blog-A-Thon”

  1. […] at Flixchatter Andina at Inspired Ground Iba at I Luv Cinema Novia at Polychrome Interest Terri at Goregirl’s Dungeon Sherry at A Restless Moment Stella at Byrneholics Fitz at Nevermind Pop Films Max at Impassioned […]

  2. I was so glad when you said you’d take part in this Terri because I knew your answers would be interesting given you interests. And what a great character to start with – I must watch Bubba Ho-Tep again soon, I’ve only seen it once.

    I love your reasoning behind the romance question!

    Dirty Harry is a good one for the cop choice although he’s not too fond of partners… πŸ˜‰

    I agree with you about Switchblade Romance – it is a very well constructed horror film but the twist ending does leave more questions than answers.

    Very, very interesting choice for the film you’d love to be transported into just to experience that world. I think any Svankmeyer would be a unique trip but I have to say it would be a nightmare for me – I can’t think of anything more frightening! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for including me Dan!

      You had the best answer for cop partner! I considered the downfall’s of being Harry’s partner but I thought the good outweighed the bad. Besides I have a bit of a crush on 60s and 70s Clint.

  3. Wow…interesting choices!! so unexpected. I only know several movies in your list.
    Existenz sounds like a great gadget….I want to visit Fatal Frame with that gadget. Let’s capture as many ghosts as possible πŸ™‚

    • Ah yes…Fatal Frame! I had to use cheats to get through that one! I would really want more than a camera for a weapon though! PS: love your turtles!

  4. […] Flixchatter, Andina at Inspired Ground, Iba at I Luv Cinema, Novia at Polychrome Interest, Terri at Goregirl’s Dungeon, Sherry at A Restless Moment, Stella at Byrneholics, Fitz at Nevermind Pop Films, Max at […]

  5. Great list and I’m thinking why I forgot all about Dirty Harry as a partner! Cool choice.

  6. Dirty Harry. Win.

    Some great choices here man!

  7. Love your selection of Elvis from Bubba Ho-tep as a seat partner. Also enjoyed perusing your kick ass blog. πŸ™‚

  8. Hi Terri…me and Rodney decided you were the winner for one of the questions in our Houdini Magic Ticket Awards! πŸ™‚

  9. […] at Flixchatter Andina at Inspired Ground Iba at I Luv Cinema Novia at Polychrome Interest Terri at Goregirl’s Dungeon Sherry at A Restless Moment Stella at Byrneholics Fitz at Nevermind Pop Films Max at Impassioned […]

Leave a Reply

