FEAST (2005) – The Dungeon Review!

This is actually my second viewing of Feast which I decided to re-watch because a couple readers had left this title and its sequels as recommendations. I love a good horror-comedy but good ones are few and far between. It is one of the only sub-genres that I enjoy it more when they keep the story simple. Less dialog and more action and gore are a winning combination when you got me laughing. Director John Gulager hits the nail on the head with Feast. I forgot how much fun this film was! I just added both sequels to my queue!

Hero comes crashing through the bar door carrying a head with a warning to the patrons of what is a-coming. Before he can make a move he is chomped up spraying the bar with blood and body parts. The bar patrons are stunned until heroine (hero’s wife) comes crashing through another door with gun in hand. Bar regulars and a few unfortunate passer-throughs, are forced to work together as the super-fast, voracious, horny and toothy creatures take them out one by one.

We are literally introduced to the characters with freeze frame head shots and a brief bio stating their name, occupation, and life expectancy. Jason Mewes freeze frame stated…

NAME: Jason Mewes
OCCUPATION: Actor
LIFE EXPECTANCY: already exceeded expectations
(Spoiler: Mr. Mewes dies early). The characters are only known by their alias; Bozo, Coach, Hero, Heroine, Beer Guy, Hot Wheels, Honey Pie, Tuffy, Bartender, Harley Mom and Grandma.

What are these creatures? Where did they come from? Don’t expect to find out. Feast is light on story. The action just happens and the origins of the creatures are never explained. Don’t worry though; you ain’t getting much time to think about it in this bullet-paced flick. Feast was entertaining, lively and gory enough to keep my attention and the lack of information really doesn’t mess with the film’s vibe.

The super fast, voracious, horny and toothy creatures also reproduce at an alarming rate. Two adults are seen fucking by the surviving patrons immediately after which one gives birth. The baby rips its way out of its birth sack and instantly goes for the bar. You don’t get a lot of lingering views of the creatures. The creatures are guys in suits and they are generally kept somewhat obscured. In fact a couple of the scenes featuring the creatures are so bloody fast it almost gave me a seizure! You do get one particularly lingering look at a creature as one of the characters literally punches the buggers head into pulp. Very nice! Have I ever mentioned how much I like Henry Rollins? His spoken word show is pure brilliance. He has a couple pretty funny lines in Feast and they make him wear pink track pants. The entire cast are pretty good and I liked the mix of stereotypical characters. The director plays up the stereotype angle and it works great. The best part of all is guessing who will be picked off next.

The lack of CGI was refreshing. There is generous gore and some wicked special effects. Particularly disgusting is the face of Beer Guy (Judah Friendlander) after being showered with a creature’s vomit. Ewwwwwww! There are limbs a-flying and blood a-spraying! Despite the action being played up for laughs it also manages some intensity and decent suspense. Feast gets both the horror AND the comedy just right. Feast’s entertaining characters, energetic pace, and gory site gags made for a hootin’ and hollerin’ good time! Highly recommended.

Dungeon Rating: 4/5

Directed By: John Gulager

Starring: Balthazar Getty, Henry Rollins, Navi Rawat, Judah Friedlander, Josh Zuckerman, Jason Mewes, Jenny Wade, Krista Allen, Clu Gulager, Anthony ‘Treach’ Criss, Eric Dane, Chauntae Davies, Diane Ayala Goldner, Somah Haaland, Tyler Patrick Jones, Mike J. Regan, Eileen Ryan, Hannah Schick, Gary J. Tunnicliffe, Duane Whitaker

5 Responses to “FEAST (2005) – The Dungeon Review!”

  1. Hi! I’m glad I found your blog! 🙂

    It’s been awhile since I seen this movie, I think I only watched it once, which was enough for me. I didn’t really care for the story line but I id LOVE how gory it was as well as the the lack of CGI, it was very refreshing! I also liked how the movie didn’t FULLY take it self seriously. Awesome review!

    • goregirl Says:

      Gory greetings Real Queen of Horror! Thanks for the props. I noticed you’re doing video reviews! I’ve been thinking of doing the same for a long time now. I have a YouTube channel but I am posting only soundtracks with slideshows at the moment. I’m hoping to have Goregirl’s Dungeon LIVE up before our zombie Walk in August! Thanks for stopping by…I’m going to add you to the blog roll!

  2. This sounds brilliant. Love the opening scene. It sounds like the sort of story/film The Mist should have been. But you’re about horror-comedy – it isn’t an easy genre to get right. I think Evil Dead provides the blueprint and Feast looks like it follows it quite well. I must check this one out as it reminds me of From Dust Till Dawn which I love.

  3. I totally forgot about the head-pulp smashing. Awesome. I think Dan’s right about Evil Dead, too. Crazy shit going on all over the place.

  4. […] Goregirl’s Dungeon review Share this:StumbleUponTwitterFacebookPrintEmailDiggLinkedInRedditPinterestTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Leave a Comment by mondozilla on 14 July, 2012  •  Permalink Posted in 2000s, American horror, creature feature, gore galore, monster movie Tagged 2005, American horror, Feast, Goregirl's Dungeon, horror film, IMDb, John Gulager, Marcus Dunstan, Patrick Melton, Wikipedia […]

Leave a Reply

