Goregirl’s 2010 Horror Films I Need To See

Every year around this time I compile a list of my favourite horror films. Not this year however as I seen only four films from 2010 and not a single one was horror. This is a long-standing tradition for me, although it has been a challenge the last decade to come up with 10 horror films I really liked from a single year. I spent too much time in 2010 watching and reviewing 70’s and 80’s films! So here I am at the end of a year and I am pitifully behind. So I spent some time over the holidays checking out what I missed this year and made a list of those of interest. There was the usual flood of remakes for 2010 with I Spit On Your Grave, The Crazies, A Nightmare On Elm Street, Mother’s Day, Let the right One In, and Piranha, but I generally avoid remakes. That said, once in a while one comes along that I just can’t resist and this year it is Piranha. I’m bummed that I didn’t get to the theatre to see this in 3-D but it looks like shitloads of fun regardless. There are piles of horror films I just avoid each year and another pile of mediocre selections that I wouldn’t rule out seeing but don’t particularly move me. I was intrigued by Daybreakers and The Wolfman but after reading some ho-hum reviews from trusted sources I feel considerably less enthusiastic. So, just to be clear here, these ARE NOT recommendations, these are films that I plan on seeing myself. This list is full of promising entries but seems a bit short for an entire year. Have you seen any of these films? Is there a glaring omission, besides the aforementioned remakes? What say you?

ALL ABOUT EVIL
Directed By: Joshua Grannell
Starring: Natasha Lyonne, Thomas Dekker, Cassandra Peterson, Mink Stole, Noah Segan, Jack Donner
This looks like loads of fun and with Mink Stole, Cassandra Peterson and Natasha Lyonne on board it seems worth a try.

STAKE LAND
Directed By: Jim Mickle
Starring: Kelly McGillis, Danielle Harris, Bonnie Dennison, Connor Paolo, Michael Cerveris, Adam Scarimbolo, Nick Damici
Stake Land is a Vampire film directed by Jim Mickle who did the very entertaining Mulberry Street in 2006…that is all I needed to know.

PIRANHA 3-D
Directed By: Alexandre Aja
Starring: Richard Dreyfuss, Ving Rhames, Elisabeth Shue, Christopher Lloyd, Eli Roth, Jerry O’Connell
Looks like bloody good times to me!

THE LAST EXORCISM
Directed By: Daniel Stamm
Starring: Patrick Fabian, Ashley Bell, Iris Bahr, Louis Herthum, Caleb Landry Jones, Tony Bentley
There really hasn’t been a possession/exorcism film that’s rocked my world in many years. Mixed reviews on this one, but I’m too curious to let it go.

TUCKER AND DALE VS EVIL
Directed By: Eli Craig
Starring: Tyler Labine, Alan Tudyk, Katrina Bowden, Jesse Moss, Philip Granger, Brandon Jay McLaren, Christie Laing
I happen to think Alan Tudyk is a likeable bloke and he was hilarious in Death At A Funeral. He plays redneck Tucker who escapes with buddy Dale to his summer home only to be terrorized by teenagers. The premise is sorta clever and amusing to me, as I find teenagers in most horror films are a lot fucking scarier than the rednecks that terrorize them.

SLIME CITY MASSACRE
Directed By: Greg Lamberson
Starring: Jennifer Bihl, Kealan Patrick Burke, Debbie Rochon, Lee Perkins, Robert C. Sabin, Brooke Lewis, Lloyd Kaufman
I never seen Slime City back in 1988 but I watched it for the first time at Christmas and thought it was awful! AWFULLY ENTERTAINING that is! What a cheap, cheesy, nasty and entertaining film. The sequel looks as classy as the original and stars Debbie Rochon! A must see!

SEVEN DAYS
Directed By: Daniel Grou
Starring: Claude Legault, Rémy Girard, Martin Dubreuil, Fanny Mallette, Rose-Marie Coallier, Alexandre Goyette
The French films have been kicking my ass the last few years and this looks like it could be pretty bloody intense.

HATCHET II
Directed By: Adam Green
Starring: Danielle Harris, Tony Todd, Kane Hodder, Parry Shen, Tom Holland, R.A. Mihailoff, AJ Bowen
I enjoyed Hatchet…

THE TROLL HUNTER
Directed By: André Øvredal
Starring: Otto Jespersen, Hans Morten Hansen, Tomas Alf Larsen, Johanna Mørck, Knut Nærum, Robert Stoltenberg, Glenn Erland Tosterud
Its Norwegian origins interest me but the trailer sealed the deal. A Norwegian film about trolls just appeals to me.

RARE EXPORTS: A CHRISTMAS TALE
Directed By: Jalmari Helander
Starring: Per Christian Ellefsen, Peeter Jakobi, Jorma Tommila, Onni Tommila, Tommi Korpela, Jonathan Hutchings, Rauno Juvonen, Ilmari Järvenpää, Risto Salmi
The trailer is downright intriguing and people I trust have told me that this film is brilliant.

THE SHRINE
Directed By: Jon Knautz
Starring: Aaron Ashmore, Ben Lewis, Cindy Sampson, Meghan Heffern, Trevor Matthews, Laura DeCarteret, Connor Stanhope
This trailer does not particularly appeal to me, but I do love pagan rituals and sacrifice (who doesn’t?!!). The real draw here is Canadian director Jon Knautz who made 2007’s awesome Jack Brooks: Monster Slayer.

FROZEN
Directed By: Adam Green
Starring: Emma Bell, Shawn Ashmore, Kevin Zegers, Ed Ackerman, Rileah Vanderbilt, Kane Hodder
Frozen was not listed as horror on IMDB but I included it anyway. Frozen got some great reviews and thus far I have been a fan of Green’s films.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

8 Responses to “Goregirl’s 2010 Horror Films I Need To See”

  1. There’s a lot on here I’ve either wanted to see or want to see now that I didn’t know about before. I’m still waiting for the Tucker & Dale release.

    I also have to say, big thumbs up for tapping into some Scandinavian horror. Thev’ve been banging out some great horrors the last few years.

    • Hi John, Every year there are gems out there in the world of horror but sometimes you need to dig deep to find them. Of course, not having actually seen any of these I should probably be carfeful about throwing the word “gem” around. That said, I am downright excited to check out these titles. And you are so right, there has been some great Scandinavian horror from recent years!

      Hi Will, I do envy your close proximity to great theatres and festivals! You get out to see tons of stuff, but no one can see everything! I look forward to catching up on what I missed. Right now I’m tackling a few flicks on the new release wall I’ve wanted to see than the hunt is on to find every last one of these titles! I’ve got some serioius movie watching to do!

  2. Thanks fot the props! Media Blasters reports they’re releasing SLIME CITY MASSACRE by “mid-year” 2011.

    Happy New Year,
    Greg

  3. The Film Reel Says:

    I’m pretty sure that both Slime City and Tucker And Dale were playing at FanExpo this year and I missed them both. Or I’m totally wrong and I didn’t miss them. Either way I’m dying to see both. Troll Hunter is on my list of flicks that I really want to see but I managed to catch most of these movies.

    All About Evil was great fun as was Piranha. Don’t worry about the 3D on that one, you aren’t missing much. Hatchet 2 was amazing and so was frozen, Rare Exports and The Last Exorcism. Stake Land is also on my must see list and I wish I had caught it at TIFF.

    That’s an impressive list of films and I’m willing to be you’ll enjoy all of them. I know I loved the ones that I’ve seen from there.

  4. Animatiefilms.com…

    Goregirl’s 2010 Horror Films I Need To See « GOREGIRL'S DUNGEON…

  5. pianolove…

    […]Goregirl’s 2010 Horror Films I Need To See « GOREGIRL'S DUNGEON[…]…

  6. burun estetigi ameliyati…

    […]Goregirl’s 2010 Horror Films I Need To See « GOREGIRL'S DUNGEON[…]…

Leave a Reply

