NEW GUY – The Dungeon Review!

new guy dvd cover“Sacrifice Equals Success”

I do enjoy any film that pokes fun at the monotony and insanity of working in an office. The big, nameless, faceless corporation featured in the film proudly boasts the motto “Sacrifice Equals Success”. This is the unspoken motto of many North American companies. I worked for one such company a few years back. The wage seems mighty until you realize that you will be taking work home with you everyday and your 40 hour work week has turned into a 60 hour week. This dark comedy hits the nail on the head. I am not sure I necessarily agree with it’s file placement in horror but it does do a surprisingly good job at building suspense. This film is a prime example of how to make a great film on a tight budget.

It’s Gregg’s first day on the job. He is mild of manner and pretty damn awkward. His co-workers are a bizarre bunch and don’t exactly make him feel welcome. By the end of the day he is desperate to get out and get to his date with Susan. But he is asked to finish one last task. He ends up getting locked in the office. The phones are down, and there are weird noises in the ceiling and someone (or something) is lurking about in the office with him. What will become of our new guy?

I quite enjoyed the humor. When a co-worker learns that his name is “Gregg” with three “G’s” he insists on pronouncing it Greg-G. Exaggerating the second “g”. It made me chuckle every time. The humor for the most part is pretty subtle and definitely dark. The film starts out as a humorous but nightmarish first day at work but when Gregg gets locked in the office the humor gets considerably darker and the mood, more intense. The filming was solid and stylish without getting needlessly “artsy”. The main character is a bit doddering and certainly doesn’t always make the most rational of decisions. He is in the majority of the film and does a pretty damn good job. I have to admit, I found him a bit irritating early in the film but I definitely warmed up to him. I did think some of his actions didn’t fit his persona which didn’t sit quite right with me. I would have liked to have seen him growing more self confident as the film rolled on. Much of the action is explained in the films climax but it does leave some questions unanswered. Don’t get me wrong, I quite enjoyed the ending but I think I needed just a little more than I got. You will never look at post-it notes in the same way again. An enjoyable low budget black comedy. Recommended!

Dungeon Rating: 3.5/5

Directed By: Bilge Ebiri

Starring: Kelly Miller, Scott Janes, Jonathan Uffelman, Johnny Ray, Tobi-Lyn Byers, Hank Prehodka, Harvey Kaufman and Louis
Cancelmi

One Response to “NEW GUY – The Dungeon Review!”

  1. Eric Tragedy Says:

    I’d been looking for a review of this film. Thanks Goregirl!

Leave a Reply

